< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Scorchers finish out Arachas Super Series with a win to claim title 4-1

Scorchers finish out Arachas Super Series with a win to claim title 4-1
Scorchers finish out Arachas Super Series with a win to claim title 4-1
©Cricket Ireland

A dramatic collapse and a brilliant all-round performance by Eimear Richardson headlined the final two matches of the Arachas Super 20 Trophy at North Kildare Cricket Club today as the Scorchers claimed the title.

In the first match of the day, a record low team score of 19 by the Scorchers saw the Typhoons take out an unlikely first victory of the competition.

Player of the Match Ava Canning claimed 3-9 in a display of accurate in-swing bowling in very bowler-friendly conditions. Not one of the Scorchers batters were able to get into double figures, as the presumptive title winners crashed to just 8-5 after 3.1 overs – with Canning finding good support with the ball from Raack (2-8), Laura Delany (2-1) and Maria Kerrison (1-1).

Earlier in the day, Eimear Richardson returned to form with the ball claiming 4-21, which included a spectacular diving caught and bowled, as the Typhoons were bundled out for 78 in the 20th over.

Orla Prendergast sought to repair a poor start by her Typhoons side, coming in at 28-2 in the 8th over and striking two sixes in a breezy innings of 19 from 13 balls. Unfortunately her dismissal precipitated a collapse – the Typhoons losing 6-23 in 8 overs to set the Scorchers just 79 for victory.

All the Scorchers bowling attack – they used seven bowlers in all – contributed, with Richardson the stand out. Lara Maritz (2-3), Cara Murray (2-12) and Sophie MacMahon (1-5) made the key breakthroughs, as the side in blue had no answer on a low, slow wicket.

However, what appeared to be a straightforward victory for the Scorchers ended up anything but, and the Scorchers batting woes resulted in the most unexpected of wins.


Scorchers v Typhoons, 5th Match Super 20 Trophy, North Kildare Cricket Club, 15 August 2021

Typhoons 78 (19.4 overs; O Prendergast 19; E Richardson 4-21)

Scorchers 19 (9.5 overs; L Paul 8; A Canning 3-9, L Delany 2-1, C Raack 2-8)

Typhoons won by 59 runs

 See full scorecard


The second match of the day saw an improved batting performance by the Scorchers setting the Typhoons a target of 96 to win. Eimear Richardson blasted 38 from 34 balls, supported by stand-in captain and the competition’s leading run-scorer Leah Paul hitting 23.

Once more the bowlers had the upper-hand under heavy, grey skies - Celeste Raack (1-11) bowled her leggies with great control in damp conditions, while Mary Waldron made a very rare appearance at the bowling crease. Waldron’s best contribution was not with the ball though, but in the field. Standing at mid-wicket, Waldron swooped on a pull shot by Richardson and with a direct hit, ended the Scorchers’ top-scorers innings.

Lara Maritz chimed in towards the end with 13*, however it was the Typhoons who went into the innings break with their tails up. 

The Typhoons looked to pace their innings, despite losing Rebecca Stokell for 8 they found themselves only one wicket down at the 10 over mark on 39-1. However, instead of the batters upping the tempo, it was Lara Maritz with the ball that swung the game to the Scorchers advantage. Coming in for her second over, Maritz removed Delany (15) with a pitched up ball that moved slightly away off the seam, and then two balls later bowled in dangerous Orla Prendergast for a duck.

Mary Waldron (28) looked to anchor the innings, but wickets fell around her with Richardson (4-11) and Sophie MacMahon (3-13) cleaning up most of the remaining dismissals to end the Typhoons run chase on 77.

The Scorchers won the Arachas Super 20 Trophy 4-1, with Eimear Richardson named Player of the Match



Scorchers v Typhoons, 6th Match Super 20 Trophy, North Kildare Cricket Club, 15 August 2021

Scorchers 95-5 (20 overs; E Richardson 38, L Paul 23; C Raack 1-11)

Typhoons 77 (19.3 overs; M Waldron 28; E Richardson 4-11, S MacMahon 3-13)

Scorchers won by 18 runs

 See full scorecard