< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Scotland announce 15-man squad for 2016 World T20

Scotland announce 15-man squad for 2016 World T20
Preston Mommsen will be leading Scotland in the ICC World T20 tournament.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Scotland selectors on Monday have announced a 15-man squad which will compete in the upcoming 2016 World Twenty20 tournament scheduled to be played in the months of March and April in India.

The squad will be led by Preston Mommsen with Kyle Coetzer as his deputy while senior players like Calum MacLeod and Richie Berrington are also included.

The selectors have also called up the 20-year-old fast bowler Gavin Main to the squad and he will replace fellow pacer Bradley Wheal, who made his international debut for Scotland in January against Hong Kong.

In a media release Cricket Scotland revealed that the squad will leave for India on 22nd February to undergo an intensive training camp in Pune before heading to Mohali for the warm-up matches.

Scotland head coach Grant Bradburn was excited at the strong squad that has been picked for the mega-event and is looking forward to the challenge of playing in India.

“It is great to be announcing an extremely strong and well balanced T20 squad for India.

“We have an excellent mix of youth and experience across the squad, with every player offering dynamic specific skills in this format.

“Competition for places in the final 15 has been hotly contested and everyone has great respect for the quality of players in the wider squad.

“India presents a huge challenge for the team, however, it also presents a fantastic opportunity which we are all looking forward to.

“We have five warm up fixtures in India to adapt to conditions and to complete our team preparation to unleash our very best skills, at this global tournament.”

On 4th and 6th March , Scotland will take part in two warm-up games against Oman and Netherlands before heading into the qualifying round.

Scotland are placed alongside Hong Kong, Afghanistan and Zimbabwe in the qualifying round of the World T20 and will have to top the group if they are to qualify for the Super 10 stage.

Scotland Squad for 2016 World T20:

Preston Mommsen (captain), Kyle Coetzer (Vice Captain), Alasdair Evans, Calum MacLeod, Con de Lange, Gavin Main, George Munsey, Josh Davey, Mark Watt, Matt Machan, Matthew Cross, Michael Leask, Richie Berrington, Rob Taylor, Safyaan Sharif

© Cricket World 2016