Scotland name squad for Women's WT20 qualifier

Scotland head to Thailand in late November to attempt to qualify for the ICC Women's World T20 2016
Scotland head to Thailand in late November to attempt to qualify for the ICC Women's World T20 2016
©REUTERS / Action Images

Scotland have named a 14-strong squad for the 2015 ICC Women's World Twenty20 qualifier which will be hosted by Thailand in November.

Abbi Aitken will captain the squad which is aiming to emulate their men's teams which qualified for the World Cup 2015 and Under-19 World Cup 2016.

ICC Women's World T20 qualifier 2016

Group A: Bangladesh, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Thailand

Group B: China, Ireland, Netherlands, Zimbabwe

28th November-5th December

They head to Bangkok on 19th November and will warm up for group games against Papua New Guinea, Bangladesh and Thailand by playing China, Ireland and Zimbabwe in warm-ups.

The top two teams in each group go through to the semi-finals and both finalists will qualify for the ICC Women's World Twenty20 2016 in India.

"The selectors have had to make some of the toughest decisions in recent times to reach our squad of 14, and each and every member of the team should be immensely proud at making the final cut," player-coach Kari Carswell said.

"We are under no illusions of the magnitude of the task, in conditions not many of us have experienced before.

"However, if we can execute our skills and replicate some of the hard work that the team have put in over the summer this tournament will help raise the profile of women’s cricket in Scotland even further."

Captain Aitken added, "It is a huge honour to captain this dedicated squad to the global qualifier.

"We will be going out there looking to perform to the best of our abilities and hope to do our supporters proud."

Scotland Women's World T20 qualifier squad: Abbi Aitken (captain), Annette Drummond, Kari Anderson, Abtaha Maqsood, Rachel Scholes, Kathryn Bryce, Sarah Bryce, Kirstie Gordon, Katie McGill, Ollie Rae, Liz Priddle, Samantha Haggo, Lorna Jack (wicket-keeper), Fi Urquhart

© Cricket World 2015