Scotland Call Up Five Newcomers For South Africa Tour

Scotland Call Up Five Newcomers For South Africa Tour
Scotland Call Up Five Newcomers For South Africa Tour
©International Cricket Council

Scotland have introduced four new faces to a 15-man squad that will tour South Africa for a month between October and November.

They will play a number of limited overs and multi-day matches against local sides as well as Twenty20 matches against Kolkata Knight Riders and Highveld Lions on 9th October.

The Knight Riders and Lions will use the match as part of their preparations for the Champions League Twenty20.

Following an ICC decision to allow British passport holders with Scottish parentage to play for Scotland, Sussex's Matthew Machan, Leicestershire's Rob Taylor, Northamptonshire's David Murphy and Gloucestershire's Richard Coughtrie will feature for the first time, although they will not be awarded caps as the team will play as 'Scotland XI'.

21-year-old Stoneywood Dyce all-rounder Michael Leask is the other uncapped member of the squad which will be captained by Preston Mommsen in the absence of both Gordon Drummond and Kyle Coetzer.

"This tour is a great opportunity to have a month training at a world class facility and playing against high quality opposition," Andy Tennent, Cricket Scotland's Head of Performance said.
"With next year providing the unique opportunity to qualify for both the 2014 World T20 and the 2015 World Cup in the 50 over format, this trip will provide excellent preparation for the challenges ahead. 
"Cricket Scotland has always taken great pride in it's teams having a majority of home grown cricketers, who are products of our excellent age group and academy system.  This will always be our aim, however where we can supplement our squad with eligible Scots who have been developed elsewhere, we will."

Scotland XI squad: Preston Mommsen (captain), Richie Berrington, Richard Coughtrie, Josh Davey, Alistair Evans, Ryan Flannigan, Gordon Goudie, Majid Haq, Moneeb Iqbal, Michael Leask, Matt Machan, Calum MacLeod, David Murphy, Safyaan Sharif, Rob Taylor

© Cricket World 2012

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.