< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Scotland, UAE Make It Two Wins In A Row

UAE players celebrate
The United Arab Emirates go into the qualifying tournament on the back of two wins in two days
©International Cricket Council

The second and final day of warm-up games for the World Cup Qualifier 2014 in New Zealand saw wins for Kenya, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Uganda and the United Arab Emirates.

Scotland and UAE, by beating Namibia and the Netherlands respectively, are the only two teams to go into the tournament on the back of two wins.

The Netherlands were favoured by many to be among the contenders to qualify for the 2015 World Cup but they have failed to win either of their warm-ups, going down by six wickets to UAE in their second game.

Batting first, they struggled for form until late in their innings when Tim Gruijters hit 58 not out and Ahsan Malik 30 to haul them up to 189 all out.

Amjad Javed took three for 23 with Manjula Guruge and Ahmed Raza taking two apiece.

Amjad Ali then retired on 70, Salman Faris made 34 before also ending his innings and UAE got home in 40.2 overs with Swapnil Patil unbeaten on 26 and Rohan Mustafa not out on 18.

Scotland produced another impressive display to beat Namibia by 63 runs.

Calum MacLeod (71), Matt Machan (48) and Matthew Cross (39 not out) top scored as Scotland racked up 275 for eight.

Bernard Scholtz impressed for Namibia with three for 35 and there were two wickets for Louis Klazinga.

Gordon Goudie (3-42) and MacLeod (1-11) then made early inroads and Namibia, despite 73 from Gerrie Snyman, were never really in the hunt.

They kept fighting, however, and finished closer to Scotland than some other teams might have thanks to Jaen Kotze making 43 and JJ Smit 27.

Kenya inched past Nepal by one wicket with one ball remaining as they came out on top of a last-over thriller having been beaten by Hong Kong in a close game yesterday.

Anil Mandal made 62 for Nepal and late runs from Binod Bhandari (48) and Pradeep Airee (42) helped them score 265 for eight - a competitive score.

With Irfan Karim making 44 and Maurice Ouma 73 Kenya looked in a strong position only to lose their way as Shakti Gauchan took four wickets and Sagar Pun three.

It needed the experience of Thomas Odoyo to see them home with an unbeaten 66 in 44 balls. He and Shem Ngoche (1 not out) held their nerve after Gauchan bowled Nehemiah Odhiambo in the penultimate over to leave Kenya still needing 16 to win with their last pair at the crease.

Papua New Guinea came out on top of a low-scoring game against Hong Kong, winning by 42 runs.

Tony Ura and Assad Vala both made 29 at the top of the order but it was 39 from Mahuru Dai and 37 from Norman Vanue that saw them reach a score of 205 all out.

Irfan Ahmed returned figures of six for 27 in seven overs and Haseeb Ahmed three for 16 in seven.

However, despite their efforts, their side fell well short. Raymond Haoda (5-29) took three early wickets and Hong Kong were in all sorts of trouble at 68 for seven.

Through Haseeb's 64 in 87 balls they launched a recovery of sorts but the damage had been done and they were eventually bowled out for 163 in 40 overs.

Canada impressed when beating the Netherlands yesterday but were unable to see off Uganda, who caused something of an upset with a big 71-run win.

It was built around their top-order batting setting up a good score. Openers Roger Mukusa (23) and Abram Mutyagaba (51) got things started and Hamza Saleh built on the foundation with 79 in 84 balls.

Further runs later on from Lawrence Sematimba (27), Davis Karashani (24 not out) and Patrick Ochan (23) helped them amass 245 for nine.

Once again for Canada, one of their openers - this time Ruvindu Gunasekera was the mainstay of their innings but his 45 wasn't quite enough.

Jimmy Hansra cracked 48 and Raza-ur-Rehman 47 but no other players could reach double figures, enabling Uganda a comfortable win with the wickets shared among six bowlers.

The tournament proper begins on Monday 13th January with two sides joining already-qualified Afghanistan and Ireland in the 2015 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

© Cricket World 2014