< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Scotland Win World Cup Qualifier

Scotland celebrate winning the Qualifier and confirming their place in Pool A of next year's World Cup
Scotland celebrate winning the Qualifier and confirming their place in Pool A of next year's World Cup
©2014 © IDI/Getty Images
Preston Mommsen celebrates his match-turning century
Preston Mommsen celebrates his match-turning century
©2014 © IDI/Getty Images

Scotland 285-5 (Mommsen 139no) beat
United Arab Emirates 244-9 by 41 runs
World Cup Qualifier 2014 Final, Lincoln

On the back of a century by captain Preston Mommsen, Scotland beat the United Arab Emirates by 41 runs to win the ICC World Cup Qualifier 2014 final in New Zealand.

One of their rewards for winning the competition, aside from a trophy, is a World Cup clash against England on 23rd February 2015 in Pool A.

UAE will play in Pool B and will appear in the World Cup for the first time since 1996 which is to date their only appearance.

2015 World Cup

Pool A: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand, Scotland, Sri Lanka

Pool B: India, Ireland, Pakistan, South Africa, United Arab Emirates, West Indies, Zimbabwe

Mommsen, who was later named as the man of the tournament, struck 139 not out in 149 balls as Scotland recovered from 128 for four to post 285 for five.

He hit 12 fours and a six and with Richie Berrington hitting 63 in 53 balls, enabled Scotland to neutralise UAE's flying start.

Matthew Cross (14), Calum MacLeod (0), Matt Machan (22) and Freddie Coleman (31) all fell cheaply inside 26 overs before Mommsen and Berrington added 138 for the fifth wicket.

Manjula Guruge finished with three for 67.

UAE made a similarly poor start to Scotland as they slipped to 106 for four as Rob Taylor and Safyaan Sharif struck twice early on.

Their fightback came from Swapnil Patil, who was eventually to be denied a maiden one-day century when he was left unbeaten on 99 in as many balls when UAE closed on 244 for nine.

He single-handedly led their charge with seven fours and two sixes but after Amjad Ali and Khurram Khan both scored 34, no other player aside from Patil could score more than 18 runs.

Taylor and Sharif both took one more wicket while Iain Wardlaw became the third bowler to take three wickets to wrap up a convincing win and an excellent tournament for Scotland.

This was Scotland's second World Cup Qualifier success after they won the qualifying event in 2005.

© Cricket World 2014