< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Second XI Quaid-e-Azam Trophy: Abrar leads Sindh to 163-run over Khyber Pakhtunkhwa


Leg-spinner Abrar Ahmed recorded a five-wicket haul on Sunday as Sindh defeated Khyber Pakhtunkhwa by 163 runs in the second round of the Second XI Quaid-e-Azam Trophy.

The other two matches between Balochistan and Southern Punjab and Central Punjab and Northern ended as draws.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa v Sindh, KCCA Stadium, Karachi:

Abrar Ahmed continued an impressive run as his five for 44 led Sindh to their second win in the tournament. The leg-spinner finished the match with nine wickets and after the completion of the second round leads the chart for the bowlers with most wickets with 22 scalps at an average of just 8.77.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa began the day at six without a loss and needed to score 258 more to win. However, they could add only 95 runs on the last day of the match before they were dismissed for 101. Only three of their batsmen – Mehran Ibrahim (24), Asif Afridi (21) and Mohammad Naeem Snr (18) – entered the double figures.

Sindh’s Aamer Ali returned three for 24, while the remaining two wickets were taken by Adeel Malik and Shahnawaz.

Sindh won the match by 163 runs.

Balochistan v Southern Punjab, State Bank Stadium, Karachi:

Rameez Alam’s unbeaten half-century helped Southern Punjab end their second round fixture against Balochistan in a draw.

Southern Punjab started the day with a second innings deficit of 49 runs with nine wickets in hand. Rameez made 71 not out from 211 balls, which included five fours and a six.

The other notable run-getters were opener Tayyab Tahir (43), captain Zain Abbas (39) and Muhammad Imran (33).

Balochistan’s Mohammad Junaid and Jalat Khan took two wickets on Sunday, while Usama Mir picked up one more wicket to end the innings with two wickets.

Central Punjab v Northern, TMC Ground, Karachi:

The second round fixture between Central Punjab and Northern ended in a draw.

Northern’s wicketkeeper-batsman Jamal Anwar scored 57 off 97 after his team began the day at 170 for four. Northern finished their second innings at 301 for nine.

Atizaz Habib Khan took four wickets for 54, while Kamran Afzal returned three for 107.

Central Punjab, in the last innings of the match, managed 159 for seven with Mohammad Irfan Khan scoring a 74-ball 60, studded with five fours and three sixes. Opener Imran Dogar, with the help of seven fours, made 49.

Left-arm orthodox Raza Hasan took four wickets. While Ziad Khan took two wickets.

Scores in brief:

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa v Sindh, KCCA Stadium, Karachi:

Sindh 270-8, 83 overs (Ammad Alam 98, Danish Aziz 46, Saifullah Bangash 43, Saad Ali 22; Mohammad Imran 4-55, Asif Afridi 2-75) and 133 all out, 47 overs (Saifullah Bangash 34, Jahid Ali 25, Ammad Alam 20; Asif Afridi 6-50, Mohammad Imran 2-23)

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa 139 all out, 41.3 overs (Mohammad Haris 36, Mohammad Mohsin Khan 21, Musadiq Ahmed 20, Mohammad Sarwar Afridi 20; Abrar Ahmed 4-32, Shahnawaz 3-35, Aamer Ali 2-18) and 101 all out, 28 over (Mehran Ibrahim 24, Asif Afridi 21; Abrar Ahmed 5-44, Aamer Ali 3-24)

Result – Sindh won by 163 runs

Balochistan v Southern Punjab, State Bank Stadium, Karachi:

Southern Punjab 196 all out, 73 overs (Mukhtar Ahmed 51, Zain Abbas 42, Waqar Hussain 26 not out, Rameez Alam 25, Muhammad Imran 20; Mohammad Junaid 4-37, Usama Mir 3-59, Umaid Asif 2-20) and 264-7, 95 overs (Rameez Alam 71 not out, Tayyab Tahir 43, Zain Abbas 39, Muhammad Imran 33, Waqar Hussain 24; Mohammad Junaid 2-31, Jalat Khan 2-46, Usama Mir 2-112)

Balochistan 314-9, 83 overs (Akbar-ur-Rehman 108, Shahbaz Khan 72, Awais Zia 35, Umaid Asif 24, Usama Mir 21 not out; Muhammad Imran 6-106, Zia-ul-Haq 3-68)

Result – Match Drawn

Central Punjab v Northern, TMC Ground, Karachi:

Northern 128 all out, 56.1 overs (Taimoor Sultan 29, Ziad Khan 25, Zaid Alam 24, Raza Hasan 23; Atizaz Habib Khan 6-19, Kamran Afzal 2-59) and 301-9, 98 overs (Zaid Alam 112, Jamal Anwar 57, Taimoor Sultan 48, Nihal Mansoor 36; Atizaz Habib Khan 4-54, Kamran Afzal 3-107)

Central Punjab 244 all out, 66.4 overs (Atiq-ur-Rehman 57, Muhammad Akhlaq 50, Mohammad Faiq 49, Atizaz Habib Khan 29; Ziad Khan 4-3, Shadab Majeed 3-34, Raza Hasan 3-107) and 159-7, 43 overs (Mohammad Irfan Khan 60, Imran Dogar 49; Raza Hasan 4-52, Ziad Khan 2-39)