< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Shahid Afridi Named Pakistan Twenty20 Captain

Misbah-ul-Haq and Shahid Afridi
Shahid Afridi (right) takes over the Twenty20 captaincy while Misbah-ul-Haq will stay on as ODI and Test skipper
©REUTERS / Action Images

Shahid Afridi has been appointed as Pakistan's Twenty20 International captain, replacing Mohammad Hafeez, who stood down following the ICC World Twenty20 earlier this year.

Afridi has been handed a two-year term as skipper, taking him through the ICC World Twenty20 2016, which will be held in India.

The powerful all-rounder has played 74 Twenty20 Internationals for Pakistan, helping them win the ICC World Twenty20 in 2009, reach the semi-finals on two other occasions (2010, 2012) and runners-up in 2007.

He captained the Twenty20 team between 2009 and 2011, taking over when Younus Khan stood down.

In all, he has played 146 Twenty20 matches playing for a number of teams around the world.

After Pakistan failed to negotiate their way the group stages in this year's tournament in Bangladesh, Hafeez, who took over as captain in 2012, decided to step down.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has also confirmed that Misbah-ul-Haq will remain as Test and One-Day International captain until the end of next year's World Cup.

"In line with my policy of taking decisions democratically I consulted Cricket Committee and my Board members before announcing these decisions," PCB chairman Sheharyar Khan said.

"I wish both Afridi and Misbah very good luck in their upcoming assignments."

Afridi's first match in his second spell as Twenty20 captain will be a match against Australia on 3rd October in Dubai.

© Cricket World 2014