Shai Hope audio | Tri-Nation ODI Series Final

©Cricket Ireland

West Indies batsman Shai Hope spoke to CWI Media after the Final of the Tri-Nation One-Day International Series against Bangladesh on Friday at the Malahide Ground. West Indies were asked to bat first in the rain-shortened contest and reached on 131-0 off 21.1 overs when the showers came. They resumed and posted 152-1 off 24 overs.

Bangladesh were set a target of 213 off 24 overs for victory, under the Duckworth Lewis Stern Method, and they secured title by five wickets with seven balls left.

Hope top-scored with 74 off 64 balls which included six boundaries and three sixes. He was named Player-of-the-Series for his overall aggregate of 470 runs (average 94). His opening partner Sunil Ambris made 69 off 78 balls with eight fours. He ended the tournament with an impressive 278 runs (average 92.66).

Hope was the first to his half-century off 50 balls when he struck seamer Mustafizur Rahman for a straight six in the 18th over which yielded 13 runs. Ambris, who had earlier smashed three boundaries in the 12th over, reached his second half-century in ODIs with a smoothly timed stroke to wide long off leg spinner Sabbir Rahman in the 19th over.

In the second half of the match, Shannon Gabriel took two wickets in one over to halt the runs after Bangladesh got off to a flying start. He ended as the leading wicket-taker with eight wickets (average 22.37) to mark a successful return to the white-ball format.

Bangladesh were led to victory by opener Soumya Sarkar who made 66 off 41 balls, while allrounder Mosaddek Hossain smashed 52 not out off just 24 balls to earn the Man-of-the-Match award.

Full details available at

Coverage will be LIVE on ESPN and ESPN2 in the Caribbean. ESPN Play – ESPN’s multiscreen live and on-demand broadband service – will stream all the matches.


Results of Tri-Nation ODI Series

Sunday, May 5: West Indies beat Ireland by 196 runs – Clontarf

Tuesday, May 7: Bangladesh beat West Indies by 8 wickets – Clontarf

Thursday, May 9: Ireland vs Bangladesh – no result due to rain – Malahide

Saturday, May 11: West Indies beat Ireland by 5 wickets – Malahide

Monday, May 13: Bangladesh beat West Indies by 5 wickets – Malahide

Wednesday, May 15: Bangladesh beat Ireland by 6 wickets – Clontarf

Friday, May 17: The Final – Bangladesh beat West Indies by 5 wickets (DLS Method) – Malahide


Jason Holder (Captain)

Shai Hope (Vice Captain)

  • Fabian Allen 
  • Sunil Ambris 
  • Darren Bravo 
  • John Campbell 
  • Jonathan Carter
  • Roston Chase
  • Sheldon Cottrell 
  • Shane Dowrich
  • Shannon Gabriel 
  • Ashley Nurse
  • Raymon Reifer 
  • Kemar Roach