< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Shakib Al Hasan produces a Magical Spell to hand Bangladesh victory in the first ODI

Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das started off cautiously and didn't score a single run for the first 2 overs. Blessing Muzarabani took full advantage of the pressure build up and got the big wicket of Tamim Iqbal. 

Match Summary

Bangladesh - 276/9 (50 overs)

Zimbabwe - 121/10 (28.5 overs)

Result: Bangladesh won the match by 155 runs.

Bangladesh innings:

Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to field first.


Bangladesh looked in sheer trouble as the scoreboard read 0 for 1. Shakib Al Hasan came in at number 3 and hit a few brilliant boundaries to improve the scoring rate in powerplay overs. However, it didn't last long and he perished to the same man, Blessing Muzarabani in the 9th over.

Liton Das at the other end was taking his time to settle in. He was joined by Mohammad Mithun who struck important 19 runs but fell at a wrong time to Tendai Chatara. Mossadek Hossain was the next one to follow as he was dismissed by Richard Ngarava for 5. Bangladesh at this point were 74 for 4.

Mahmudullah came in at number 6 and provided an important support to Liton Das who seemed quite comfortable at the crease. Both played the middle overs well and stitched a partnership of 93 runs for the 5th wicket to take Bangladesh out of trouble. After Mahmudullah's dismisal, Afif Hossain played a blinder and scored 45 off 35 balls. In the meanwhile, Liton Das too reached his ton before getting dismissed at 102. The lower middle order including Mehidy Hasan Miraz provided the much needed push in the death overs and Bangladesh reached a respectable total of 276 for 9 in 50 overs.

Zimbabwe innings:

Chasing 276, Zimbabwe lost Tadiwanashe Marumani for a duck. Mohammad Saifuddin provided the breakthrough for Bangladesh. Wesley Madhvere too was dismissed shortly after by Taskin Ahmed and Zimbabwe looked in troubled waters early on.

Brendan Taylor and Dion Myers in the middle order played an assuring knock and stitched a partnership of 36 runs for the 3rd wicket before Myers fell to Shoriful Islam after scoring 18. Regis Chakabwa and Brendan Taylor took the innings forward with good intent but just when things were looking good for Zimbabwe, Shakib Al Hasan was introduced into the attack. He immediately struck with the big wicket of Brendan Taylor followed by Ryan Burl. After Burl's dismissal, Luke Jongwe ran himself out in a dramatic fashion and Zimbabwe were reduced to 105 for 6.

Chakabwa hit some valuable boundaries but he losing partners at the other end in regular succession. Shakib fixed the last nail in the coffin by dismissing Regis Chakabwa for 54 and it was all over for Zimbabwe. The lower middle order could not show any resistance and Zimbabwe were bowled out for 121, losing the match by 155 runs.

Shakib Al Hasan picked up 5 wickets for 30 runs in his spell. He was very accurate and precise with the line and length that produced phenomenal results for him.

Liton Das was adjudged man of the match for his performance with the bat.

Fall of wickets: 

Bangladesh: 1-0 (Tamim Iqbal - 2.1 ov), 2-32 (Shakib Al Hasan - 8.2 ov), 3-57 (Mohammad Mithun - 13.4 ov), 4-74 (Mosaddek Hossain - 18.4 ov), 5-167 (Mahmudullah - 35.5 ov), 6-207 (Liton Das - 41.3 ov), 7-265 (Mehidy Hasan Miraz - 48.3 ov), 8-265 (Afif Hossain - 48.4 ov), 9-267 (Taskin Ahmed - 48.5 ov)

Zimbabwe1-4 (Tadiwanashe Marumani - 1.4 ov), 2-13 (Wesley Madhevere - 4.2 ov), 3-49 (Dion Myers - 10.3 ov), 4-78 (Brendan Taylor - 14.2 ov), 5-105 (Ryan Burl - 20.3 ov), 6-105 (Luke Jongwe - 21.2 ov), 7-108 (Blessing Muzarabani - 22.1 ov), 8-119 (Regis Chakabva - 26.3 ov), 9-121 (Richard Ngarava - 28.5 ov)

Playing XIs:

Bangladesh- Tamim Iqbal (c), Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Mossadek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam

Zimbabwe- Wesley Madhvere, Brendan Taylor (c), Tadiwanashe Marumani, Dion Myers, Regis Chakabwa, Ryan Burl, Luke Jongwe, Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara, Richard Ngarava, Timycen Maruma

Match Details

Start Time: 11:00

Toss: Zimbabwe won toss and elected to field first.

Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare

Officials: Langton Rusere, Marais Erasmus, Iknow Chabi

© Cricket World