< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Shakib al Hasan & Rahmanullah Gurbaz join Amazon Warriors for the remainder of 2022 Hero CPL

Shakib al Hasan
Shakib al Hasan

Shakib al Hasan and Rahmanullah Gurbaz will be joining the Guyana Amazon Warriors for the remaining matches of the 2022 Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

They will be replacing Heinrich Klaasen and Tabraiz Shamsi who have been called up to international duties with South Africa after the Trinidad leg of the tournament. 

This will be the third Hero CPL franchise that Shakib has represented having previously played for the Barbados Royals and Jamaica Tallawahs. The Bangladesh all-rounder is the holder of the current record for best bowling figures in a Hero CPL match, having taken 6/6 for the Barbados franchise in 2013. 

Afghan international Gurbaz will be making his first appearance at the Hero CPL. Having played 44 matches for Afghanistan and with experience at the Indian Premier League and Pakistan Super League he will bring a lot of batting power to the Amazon Warriors line up. 

Top Tournament Stats - Men's Caribbean Premier League 2022

Top Batter (Runs Scored) 

Top Bowler (Wickets taken)

Most Sixes

Points Table


First started in 2013, the Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is a franchise-based T20 format cricket tournament that combines two of the most compelling aspects of Caribbean life – dramatic cricket and a vibrant Carnival atmosphere. The broadcast and digital viewership has passed 500 million in both 2020 and in 2021 to make it one of the most watched leagues in world cricket. St Kitts & Nevis Patriots are the current Hero CPL champions and the other competing teams are Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors, Jamaica Tallawahs, Saint Lucia Kings and Trinbago Knight Riders. 


The 2022 men’s Hero CPL tournament is taking place from 31 August to 30 September. The host countries for 2022 are St Kitts & Nevis, Saint Lucia, Trinidad & Tobago and Guyana. In 2022 there was the first running of the Massy Women’s Caribbean Premier League (WCPL) with Trinbago Knight Riders being crowned Champions. The tournament also featured Barbados Royals and Guyana Amazon Warriors.