< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Shami, Negi included in India World T20 squad

Shami, Negi included in India World T20 squad
Mohammad Shami last played for India in the 2015 World Cup in March.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Indian selectors on Friday announced the squad for the Asia Cup and World Twenty20 tournaments with fast bowler Mohammad Shami making a comeback after almost a year.

Shami last played for India during the 2015 World Cup in March and was sidelined after that with a knee injury which kept him out of action for the rest of the year.

After recovering from the injury, Shami was included in the Indian squad for the One-Day International series against Australia in January but a hamstring injury ended his tour before it started and Bhuvneshwar Kumar was named as his replacement.

Shami will replace Kumar in the squad that was picked to play Sri Lanka in the three-match T20I series while Virat Kohli, who will be rested for that series, will make a return in place of Manish Pandey.

The selectors have included as many as four spinners considering the sub-continental conditions with Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja expected to be frontline options while Harbhajan Singh and Pawan Negi will assist them. 

Jasprit Bumrah, who ended as the leading wicket-taker in the recently concluded T20I series against Australia, has managed to find a place in the 15-man squad while Yuvraj Singh has been retained as well.

The Asia Cup tournament, which will be played in the T20 format for the first time, is scheduled to be played in Bangladesh between 24th February and 6th March while the World T20 tournament kicks off on 8th March.

India squad for Asia Cup and ICC World T20 tournaments:

MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Harbhajan Singh, Mohammed Shami, Pawan Negi. 

© Cricket World 2016