< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sharon Tredrea and Craig McDermott Inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame

Sharon Tredrea and Craig McDermott Inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame
Sharon Tredrea and Craig McDermott Inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame

One of the pioneers of modern-day women’s cricket and a great of the men’s game have been inducted onto the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame.

Sharon Tredrea, once regarded the fastest bowler in international women’s cricket, and fellow quick Craig McDermott, twice voted the best player in the world, will take their places in the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame (ACHoF) at the Australian Cricket Awards in Melbourne tonight.

Australian Cricket Hall of Fame Chairman PETER KING, Australian Cricket Hall of Fame 2020 inductees SHARON TREDREA and CRAIG MCDERMOTT will take part in a media opportunity tomorrow at 11:00am (AEDT) at the Australian Sports Museum at the MCG. Media are asked to congregate at Gate 3 of the MCG.

ACHoF chairman Peter King today said the pair had been chosen by the panel for their performances as elite players and contributions to the game following their stellar on-field careers.

“The selection committee considered a number of nominees to ultimately choose two of the best players Australia has produced for their contributions to club, state and international cricket,” King said.

“Sharon and Craig are well deserved inductees into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame to join an elite group of people who have given so much to cricket, the game we love.”

Tredrea played ten Test matches for 30 wickets and 31 One Day Internationals for 32 wickets, including four World Cups between 1973 and 1988. Also handy with the bat, Tredrea averaged 31.45 in Test cricket and 27.78 in ODIs.

She captained Australia against New Zealand in 1979 and in Australia’s defence of the World Cup in India in 1978. She was also an inaugural female inductee into Lord’s Taverners Victoria - Legends of Victorian Cricket and is a Life Member of Cricket Victoria.

The best player for the Victorian Spirit is awarded the Sharon Tredrea Award. Sister Janette also represented Australia in five Tests and five One Day Internationals.

Speaking of Tredrea’s induction, King said:

“Sharon was a trailblazer of the women’s game during her career at a time when opportunities for our women’s cricketers were few and there was little or no funding available to them.”

“She was a fierce competitor on the field who always strived for the ultimate performance but was equally gracious off the field.

“Sharon was always the first to congratulate her team-mates or the opposition. Her focus was always on the team and the game, unconcerned by personal statistics or achievements.”

McDermott was one of the greatest fast bowlers in a decade on the front line for Australia. He was named International Cricketer of the Year in 1992 and 1995.

He started his first-class career with Queensland as an 18-year-old and made his Test debut a year later, when he was given his long-standing nickname “Billy the Kid”.

McDermott took 30 wickets on his first Ashes tour in 1985 and was instrumental in Australia’s famous World Cup victory in 1987 with 18 wickets, including 5-44 in the semi-final against Pakistan.

In all he played in 71 Test matches with 291 wickets at 28.63. In 138 One Day Internationals he took a record 203 wickets while for Queensland he managed 303 wickets at 25.09.

King said:

“Craig remains one of Australia’s standout fast bowlers after a stellar playing and coaching career. He endured his fair share of injury given the rigours of pace bowling over a long period of time but fought back each time, highlighting his mental and physical toughness.

“His performances at the 1987 World Cup and 1994-95 Ashes Series were amongst his finest moments. And like all Australian players he was always at his best against the old enemy against whom he took 84 wickets in 17 Tests, including the incredible 8-97 in Perth in 1990-91.

“Craig led the Australian attack through a difficult period of recovery under Allan Border, ultimately starting the following eras of success for the Australian men’s team.”

Sharon Tredrea

International Career Summary

Tests: 10

Test Debut: March 21, 1975 vs New Zealand in Wellington NZ
One Day Internationals: 31
ODI Debut: June 23, 1973 v Young England Women at Bournemouth, England



Craig McDermott

International Career Summary

Tests: 71

Test Debut: December 22 1984 v West Indies at the MCG
One Day Internationals: 138
ODI Debut: January 6 1985 v West Indies at the MCG



About the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame

The Australian Cricket Hall of Fame was first proposed by the Melbourne Cricket Club in 1995.

With the support of Cricket Australia and Cricket Victoria, the Hall of Fame was officially opened by the then Prime Minister of Australia, the Honourable John Howard MP in 1996.

The selection philosophy for the hall of fame focuses on the players’ status as sporting legends in addition to their outstanding statistical records.

All inductees must have been retired from international cricket for a minimum of five years to be eligible for selection.

An inaugural group of 10 players were inducted in 1996, and the following have been welcomed since:


Inducted 1996 - Fred Spofforth, John Blackham, Victor Trumper, Clarrie Grimmett, Bill Ponsford, Sir Donald Bradman, Bill O’Reilly, Keith Miller, Ray Lindwall and Dennis Lillee
Inducted 2000 - Warwick Armstrong, Neil Harvey and Allan Border
Inducted 2001 - Bill Woodfull and Arthur Morris
Inducted 2002 - Stan McCabe and Greg Chappell
Inducted 2003 - Lindsay Hassett and Ian Chappell
Inducted 2004 - Hugh Trumble and Alan Davidson
Inducted 2005 - Clem Hill and Rod Marsh
Inducted 2006 - Monty Noble and Bob Simpson
Inducted 2007 - Charles Macartney and Richie Benaud
Inducted 2008 - George Giffen and Ian Healy
Inducted 2009 - Steve Waugh
Inducted 2010 - Bill Lawry and Graham McKenzie
Inducted 2011 - Mark Taylor and Doug Walters
Inducted 2012 - Shane Warne
Inducted 2013 - Charlie Turner and Glenn McGrath
Inducted 2014 - Mark Waugh and Belinda Clark
Inducted 2015 - Adam Gilchrist and Jack Ryder
Inducted 2016 - Jeff Thomson and Wally Grout
Inducted 2017 - David Boon, Matthew Hayden and Betty Wilson
Inducted 2018 - Norm O’Neill, Ricky Ponting and Karen Rolton
Inducted 2019 - Cathryn Fitzpatrick, Dean Jones and Billy Murdoch

ACHoF Chair and MCC Cricket chairman Peter King
Former Test captain Belinda Clark
Former Test captain Mark Taylor
Former Test batsman Paul Sheahan
Australian Cricketers’ Association CEO Alistair Nicholson
Cricket Australia CEO Kevin Roberts
Media representatives Ben Horne and Greg Baum

Official Cricket Australia Website