Shoaib Akhtar Also Left Out Of Champions Trophy Squad

Shoaib Akhtar Also Left Out Of Champions Trophy Squad
Shoaib Akhtar Also Left Out Of Champions Trophy Squad
©REUTERS/Karl Jeffs (UNITED ARAB EMIRATES SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Pakistan have named their 30-man Champions Trophy squad, with fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar a notable omission in the list of players which will be trimmed to 15 closer to the start of the tournament in two months.

Akhtar, who missed the ICC World Twenty20 with a skin infection, has not earned a recall, either for the One-Day International series against Sri Lanka, or the Champions Trophy, which begins in South Africa on September 22nd.

Younus Khan is set to lead the side while fast bowler Mohammad Asif has been named in the 30-man squad. Asif's drugs ban expires just before the start of the tournament which would allow him to play, should he be selected in the final squad.

Former ICL players Imran Nazir, Mohammad Yousuf, Abdul Razzaq and Rana Naved-ul-Hasan are all included in the squad after they broke their contracts with the league earlier this year.

Umar Akmal, Mohammad Hafeez and Sheharyar Ghani all starred on the recent tour of Australia with Pakistan A and they have earnt call-ups to the squad.

Pakistan are in Group A alongside reigning champions Australia, fierce rivals India and 2004 champions the West Indies.

Pakistan: Younus Khan (captain), Salman Butt, Nasir Jamshed, Khalid Latif, Azhar Ali, Imran Nazir, Mohammad Yousuf, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umar Amin, Umar Akmal, Sheharyar Ghani, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Naved-ul-Hasan, Yasir Arafat, Fawad Alam, Kamran Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Umar Gul, Mohammad Aamer, Abdur Rauf, Mohammad Asif, Mohammad Talha, Sohail Tanvir, Iftikhar Anjum, Wahab Riaz, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman, Mohammad Hafeez

© Cricket World 2009

Get the latest from Cricket World® with Facebook, twitter and YouTube and keep up with the action with the latest TV highlights and interviews.