< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Shpageeza 2020: Afghan leads Dragons into second qualifier

Asghar Afghan led from the front
Asghar Afghan led from the front
©Afghanistan Cricket Board

Band-e-Amir Dragons got a second chance to enter the final of the Shpageeza T20 Cricket League with a 76 run win over Bost Defenders in the eliminator clash at the Kabul International Cricket Stadium on Monday afternoon.

Asked to bat first, Dragons blasted their way to 232 for two in their 20 overs. The star of the show for Dragons was their captain Asghar Afghan (95 n.o,: 39b, 6x4, 7x6). He shared a 118 run third wicket stand with Ibrahim Zadran (37 n.o.: 20b, 4x4, 2x6). Earlier, the openers Hazratullah Zazai (49: 37b, 4x4, 3x6) and Usman Ghani (42: 25b, 4x4, 2x6) who shared a 74 run stand.

None of the Defenders bowlers made any impact on Dragons line-up.

The chase for Defenders just did not take off. Only opener Karim Janat (60: 29b, 2x4, 6x6) provided some resistance. Apart from that Ihsanullah (21), later, Waqarullah Ishaq (19) and Sayed Shirzad (18 n.o.) provided some lusty hits. In the end, Defenders were bowled out for 156 in 19.2 overs, handing a massive win for Dragons.

For Dragons, the best bowlers were Mirwais Ashraf (4-14) and Waqar Salamkheil (4-25).

Dragons will now play Mis-e-Ainak Knights in the second qualifier clash on Tuesday afternoon. Kabul Eagles have already booked their place in the final to be played on Wednesday afternoon.

Match Summary - Band-e-Amir Dragons v Bost Defenders, Eliminator, Shpageeza T20 Cricket League

Band-e-Amir Dragons 232-2 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-74 (Usman Ghani-8.1 ov), 2-114 (Hazratullah Zazai-11.6 ov)

Bost Defenders 156 (19.2)
Fall of wickets: 1-62 (Imran Janat-6.1 ov), 2-97 (Karim Janat-9.3 ov), 3-99 (Shafiqullah Ghafari-10.1 ov), 4-101 (Munir Ahmad-10.6 ov), 5-103 (Ihsanullah-11.4 ov), 6-107 (Gulbadin Naib-12.6 ov), 7-115 (Tahir Khan-14.5 ov), 8-115 (Nisar Wahdat-15.1 ov), 9-128 (Amir Hamza-15.6 ov), 10-156 (Waqarullah Ishaq-19.2 ov)

Result - Band-e-Amir Dragons won by 76 runs


Playing XI
Band-e-Amir Dragons: Usman Ghani, Hazratullah Zazai, Asghar Afghan (captain), Ibrahim Zadran, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Hamid Hassan, Waqar Salamkheil, Mirwais Ashraf, Nasir Jamal, Mohammad Sardar (wicket-keeper), Farhad Momand

Bost Defenders: Imran Janat, Karim Janat, Shafiqullah Ghafari, Munir Ahmad (wicket-keeper), Ihsanullah, Gulbadin Naib (captain), Tahir Khan, Nisar Wahdat, Amir Hamza, Waqarullah Ishaq, Sayed Shirzad