< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Shpageeza 2020: Ashraf spins a web around Defenders

Sharafuddin Ashraf spun a web around Defenders
Sharafuddin Ashraf spun a web around Defenders
©Afghanistan Cricket Board

Sharafuddin Ashraf's excellent left-arm spin helped script a terrific nine wicket win for Band-e-Amir Dragons over Bost Defenders in the Shpageeza T20 Cricket League.

At the Kabul International Cricket Stadium, Defenders opted to bat and were immediately in a spot of bother. Only opener Imran Janat (33: 28b, 2x4, 1x6) held fort initially as Defenders slipped to 89 for five. Thereafter, wicket-keeper Munir Ahmad's 28-ball 31 with two boundaries provided some impetus towards the end. Defenders finished at a paltry 133 for nine in their 20 overs.

Ashraf, player of the match, finished with four for 13 and Waqar Salamkheil with figures of three for 17 provided excellent support.

The chase for Dragons was fashioned by an excellent 107-run second wicket stand between opener Usman Ghani (62 n.o.: 51b, 10x4, 1x6) and captain Asghar Afghan (55 n.o: 27b, 6x4, 3x6). Dragons overhauled the target in 15 overs with nine wickets to spare to finish at 134 for one.

Match 5 - Bost Defenders v Band-e-Amir Dragons, Match 5, Shpageeza T20 Cricket League

Bost Defenders 133-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Karim Janat-1.2 ov), 2-12 (Ihsanullah-1.5 ov), 3-25 (Rahmat Shah-5.2 ov), 4-64 (Imran Janat-10.1 ov), 5-89 (Munir Ahmad-13.3 ov), 6-106 (Shafiqullah Ghafari-15.1 ov), 7-107 (Gulbadin Naib-15.5 ov), 8-118 (Tahir Khan-17.6 ov), 9-133 (Sayed Shirzad-19.6 ov)

Band-e-Amir Dragons 134-1 (15)
Fall of wickets: 1-27 (Hazratullah Zazai-4.5 ov)

Result - Band-e-Amir Dragons won by nine wickets


Playing XI

Bost Defenders: Gulbadin Naib (captain), Karim Janat, Imran Janat, Ihsanullah, Rahmat Shah, Munir Ahmad (wicket-keeper), Shafiqullah Ghafari, Tahir Khan, Amir Hamza, Sayed Shirzad, Mohammad Saleem

Band-e-Amir Dragons: Asghar Afghan (captain), Usman Ghani, Hazratullah Zazai,Ibrahim Zadran, Sharafudin Ashraf, Tariq Stanikzai, Mirwais Ashraf, Nasir Jamal, Waqar Salamkheil, Hamid Hassan, Ikram Alikhil (wicket-keeper)