< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Shpageeza 2020: Defenders openers blank out Sharks

Defenders captain Gulbadin Naib flexes his muscles
Defenders captain Gulbadin Naib flexes his muscles
©Afghanistan Cricket Board

Bost Defenders' openers Imran Janat and Karim Janat shared a brilliant unbroken opening stand to star in their side's 10-wicket win over Amo Sharks in the Shpageeza T20 Cricket League.

At the Kabul International Cricket Stadium, Defenders opted to field. Defenders struck quite early and reduced Sharks to 13 for three. Thereafrer, it required a 50 run fourth wicket stand between Haji Murad Muradi (26) and Qasim OryaKhail (29) which revived the innings. Captain Darwish Rasooli (51 n.o.: 22b, 1x4, 7x6) struck lusty blows to ensure that his side finished at 122 for five in their 20 overs. Amir Hamza (2-7) and captain Gulbadin Naib (2-38) were the key wicket-takers for Defenders.

The chase for Defenders was quite easy as openers Imran Janat (57 n.o.: 31b, 6x4, 3x6) and Karim Janat (64 n..: 38b, 6x4, 4x6) added an unbeaten 124 to fashion the win. Defenders achieved the target in 11.3 overs.

Sharks ended the competition without any win in the league stage. Kabul Eagles finished on top of the table followed by Mis-e-Ainak Knights in second place, Band-e-Amir Dragons in third, Defenders in fourth and Speen Ghar Tigers in fifth place.

Match Summary - Amo Sharks v Bost Defenders, 15th Match, Shpageeza T20 Cricket League

Amo Sharks 122-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Janat Gul-0.5 ov), 2-5 (Shir Shirzai-2.6 ov), 3-13 (Asadullah Matani-3.3 ov), 4-63 (Haji Murad Muradi-14.6 ov), 5-109 (Qasim OryaKhail-18.5 ov)

Bost Defenders 124-0 (11.3)

Result - Bost Defenders won by 10 wickets


Playing XI
Amo Sharks: Janat Gul, Shir Shirzai, Asadullah Matani, Haji Murad Muradi (wicket-keeper), Qasim OryaKhail, Yahya Khan, Darwish Rasooli (captain), Yamin Ahmadzai, Zahid Zakhail, Nasratullah, Fitratullah Khawari

Bost Defenders: Imran Janat, Karim Janat, Amir Hamza, Ihsanullah, Sayed Shirzad, Shafiqullah Ghafari, Munir Ahmad (wicket-keeper), Tahir Khan, Gulbadin Naib (captain), Waqarullah Ishaq, Nisar Wahdat