< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Shpageeza 2020: Eagles go top of the table with compact win

Karim Sadiq fell at the wrong time
Karim Sadiq fell at the wrong time
©Afghanistan Cricket Board

Kabul Eagles went top of the points table in the Shpageeza T20 Cricket League with a six wicket win over Speen Ghar Tigers at the Kabul International Cricket Stadium on Sunday morning.

After opting to field, Eagles restricted Tigers to 142 for eight in their 20 overs. Bahir Shah (37: 30b, 1x4, 2x6) held the innings together for Eagles. The other key contributors were Tamim Surkhorodi (25) and Perwez Malizai (24). The best bowlers for Eagles were man of the match Azmatullah Omarzai (3-20), Nangeyalia Kharote (2-18) and Zia-ur-Rehman (2-27).

In their reply Eagles were well served by captain Rahmanullah Gurbaz (40: 19b, 5x4, 2x6). Gurbaz shared a 67 run opening stand with Wasim Zazai (27). Later, Noor Ali Zadran (29), Sediqullah Atal (18) and Samiullah Shinwari (18 n.o.) applied finishing touches to the chase. In the end, Eagles won by six wickets to finish at 143 for four in 17.5 overs. The only bowler to make an impact for Tigers was Zubaid Akbari (2-15).

Match Summary - Speen Ghar Tigers v Kabul Eagles, 14th Match, Shpageeza T20 Cricket League

Speen Ghar Tigers 142-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-29 (Nasir Khan-4.3 ov), 2-48 (Waheedullah Shafaq-7.2 ov), 3-51 (Tamim Surkhorodi-7.5 ov), 4-51 (Zubaid Akbari-8.2 ov), 5-83 (Karim Sadiq-12.1 ov), 6-114 (Perwez Malikzai-16.2 ov), 7-140 (Qais Ahmad-19.3 ov), 8-142 (Bahir Shah-19.6 ov)

Kabul Eagles 143-4 (17.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-67 (Rahmanullah Gurbaz-5.6 ov), 2-75 (Wasim Zazai-8.2 ov), 3-118 (Noor Ali Zadran-14.3 ov), 4-128 (Sediqullah Atal-16.3 ov)

Result - Kabul Eagles won by five wickets


Playing XI
Speen Ghar Tigers: Nasir Khan, Waheedullah Shafaq (wicket-keeper), Tamim Surkhorodi, Zubaid Akbari, Karim Sadiq (captain), Perwez Malikzai, Qais Ahmad, Bahir Shah, Aftab Alam, Abdullah Adil, Zamir Khan

Kabul Eagles: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (captains & wicket-keeper), Wasim Zazai, Noor Ali Zadran, Sediqullah Atal, Samiullah Shinwari, Azmatullah Omarzai, Nangeyalia kharote, Ziaur Rahman, Zia-ur-Rehman, Nijat Masood, Abdul Latif Ayoubi