< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Shpageeza 2020: Eagles storm into final

Noor Ali Zadran blasts one during his knock
Noor Ali Zadran blasts one during his knock
©Afghanistan Cricket Board

Kabul Eagles stormed into the final of the Shpageeza T20 Cricket League by beating Mis-e-Ainak Knights by four wickets at the Kabul International Cricket Stadium on Monday afternoon.

After opting to field, Eagles saw Knights posting 208 for three in their 20 overs. Opener Mohammad Shahzad (40: 29b, 6x4, 2x6) started off well for Knights. Thereafter, Hashmatullah Shahidi (97 n.o.: 52b, 11x4, 5x6) shared a 118-run third-wicket partnership with Ghamai Zadran (46: 27b, 2x4, 4x6). Knights ended on a strong note. Only, Nangeyalia Kharote (2-42) made any kind of impression for Eagles.

In the chase, Eagles started off well, but it required opener Noor Ali Zadran's 52-ball 85 with eight boundaries and four sixes to revive the innings. Zadran stood strong even as the middle-order collapsed around him. Zadran was the fifth wicket to fall. Zadran shared a 93-run fifth wicket stand with Azmatullah Omarzai (62 n.o.: 33b, 5x4, 4x6). Omarzai stood unbeaten to seal the chase for Eagles. In the end, Eagles overhauled the target in 19.1 overs with five balls to spare to finish at 209 for six.

The best bowlers for Knights were Ibrahim (2-43) and skipper Shapoor Zadran (2-36). Knights now have one more chance for a shot at the final, when they play the second qualifier on Tuesday.

Match Summary - Mis-e-Ainak Knights v Kabul Eagles, Qualifier 1, Shpageeza T20 Cricket League

Mis-e-Ainak Knights 208-3 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-28 (Bahar Shinwari-3.3 ov), 2-60 (Mohammad Shahzad-7.3 ov), 3-178 (Ghamai Zadran-17.3 ov)

Kabul Eagles 209-6 (19.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-46 (Rahmanullah Gurbaz-3.2 ov), 2-64 (Sediqullah Atal-4.4 ov), 3-70 (Younas Ahmadzai-5.2 ov), 4-81 (Samiullah Shinwari-6.4 ov), 5-174 (Noor Ali Zadran-16.5 ov), 6-203 (Nangeyalia Kharote-18.5 ov)

Result - Kabul Eagles won by four wickets


Playing XI
Mis-e-Ainak Knights: Bahar Shinwari, Mohammad Shahzad (wicket-keeper), Ghamai Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Abdul Rahman, Shapoor Zadran (captain), Noor Ahmad, Dawlat Zadran, Ibrahim, Shahidullah

Kabul Eagles: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (captain & wicket-keeper), Sediqullah Atal, Younas Ahmadzai, Samiullah Shinwari, Noor Ali Zadran, Nangeyalia Kharote, Azmatullah Omarzai, Sharifullah Ahmadzai, Zia-ur-Rehman, Nijat Masood, Ziaur Rahman