< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Shpageeza 2020: Ghani, bowlers script Dragons win

Usman Ghani shared a crucial stand with opening partner Hazratullah Zazai
Usman Ghani shared a crucial stand with opening partner Hazratullah Zazai
©Afghanistan Cricket Board

Led by opener Usman Ghani's brilliant 57 Band-e-Amir Dragons beat Amo Sharks by seven wickets in the Shpageeza T20 Cricket League on Wednesday at the Kabul International Cricket Stadium.

Dragons opted to field and bowled fantastic spells to slow down Sharks. After Sharks openers Farhan Zakhil (22) and captain Javed Ahmadi (34) added 56 for first wicket, there was a mini collapse. Thereafter, Darwish Rasooli took charge as he smashed an unbeaten 52 off 37 balls with four boundaries and three sixes. In the end, Sharks could post only 142 for five in their 20 overs.

The best bowler for Dragons, yet again was Sharafuddin Ashraf (2-29).

The chase for Dragons was scripted by Ghani's 40-ball 57 with six boundaries and two sixes. Ghani shared a 69 run opening stand with Hazratullah Zazai (38: 26b, 4x4, 2x6). Later, Ikram Alikhil (18 n.o.) and Nasir Jamal (20 n.o.) applied finishing touches to the chase.

The best bowler for Sharks was Abdul Wasi (3-17).

Match 6 - Amo Sharks v Band-e-Amir Dragons, Shpageeza T20 Cricket League

Amo Sharks 142-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-56 (Javed Ahmadi-5.2 ov), 2-57 (Farhan Zakhil-5.6 ov), 3-67 (Abdul Wasi-8.5 ov), 4-108 (Juma Gul-15.3 ov), 5-110 (Hayatullah, 16.1 ov)

Band-e-Amir Dragons 144-3 (17.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-69 (Hazratullah Zazai-6.6 ov), 2-98 (Asghar Afghan-11.2 ov), 3-115 (Usman Ghani-13.6 ov)

Result - Band-e-Amir Dragons won by seven wickets


Playing XI
Amo Sharks: Juma Gul Miakhil, Javed Ahmadi (captain), Farhan Zakhail, Abdul Wasi, Darwish Rasooli,Hayatullah, Imran Mohammadi, Haji Murad Muradi (wicket-keeper), Batin Shah, Fareed Ahmad, Yamin Ahmadzai

Band-e Amir Dragons: Usman Ghani, Hazratullah Zazai, Asghar Afghan (captain), Ikram Alikhil (wicket-keeper), Nasir Jamal, Tariq Stanikzai, Wafadar Momand, Sharafudin Ashraf, Hamid Hassan, Waqar Salamkheil, Ibrahim Zadran