< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Shpageeza 2020: Knights enter final, set up title clash with Eagles

Shahidullah played a terrific hand
Shahidullah played a terrific hand
©Afghanistan Cricket Board

Mis-e-Ainak Knights finally sealed their place in the final of the Shpageeza T20 Cricket League with compact five-wicket win over Band-e-Amir Dragons in the second qualifier match at the Kabul International Cricket Stadium on Monday afternoon.

Dragons opted to bat and posted 178 for eight in their 20 overs. The top-scorer for Dragons was opener Usman Ghani (64: 49b, 4x4, 3x6). The other contributors were captain Asghar Afghan (23), Nasir Jamal (23) and Mirwais Ashraf (22 n.o.). For Knights the wicket-takers were Dawlat Zadran (2-38) and captain Shapoor Zadran (2-40).

In the chase, Knights were well served by opener Bahar Shinwari (47: 27b, 6x4, 2x6). Later it required a 70-run fifth wicket stand between Afsar Zazai (35 n.o.: 16b, 4x4, 2x6) and man of the match Shahidullah (42: 23b, 2x4, 3x6) to put the chase on track. None of the Dragons bowler created any impression whatsoever.

Knights will now play Kabul Eagles for the title on Wednesday afternoon.

Match Summary - Band-e-Amir Dragons v Mis-e-Ainak Knights, Qualifier 2, Shpageeza T20 Cricket League

Band-e-Amir Dragons 178-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Hazratullah Zazai-1.3 ov), 2-56 (Asghar Afghan-7.1 ov), 3-79 (Ibrahim Zadran-10.5 ov), 4-130 (Usman Ghani-15.6 ov), 5-141 (Nasir Jamal-17.3 ov), 6-145 (Sharafuddin Ashraf-17.5 ov), 7-150 (Ikram Alikhil-18.3 ov), 8-164 (Hamid Hassan-19.3 ov)

Mis-e-Ainak Knights 182-5 (18.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Mohammad Shahzad-1.2 ov), 2-72 (Bahar Shinwari-8.3 ov), 3-104 (Ghamai Zadran-11.6 ov), 4-104 (Hashmatullah Shahidi-12.1 ov), 5-174 (Shahidullah-18.2 ov)

Result - Mis-e-Ainak Knights won by five wickets


Playing XI
Band-e-Amir Dragons: Hazratullah Zazai, Asghar Afghan (captain), Ibrahim Zadran, Usman Ghani, Nasir Jamal, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Ikram Alikhil (captain), Hamid Hassan, Mirwais Ashraf, Wafadar Momand, Waqar Salamkheil

Mis-e-Ainak Knights: Mohammad Shahzad (wicket-keeper), Bahar Shinwari, Ghamai Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Shahidullah, Afsar Zazai, Dawlat Zadran, Abdul Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Ibrahim, Shapoor Zadran (captain)