< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Shpageeza 2020: Naib's histrionics outshines Shahzad's blitzkrieg

Mohammad Shahzad played a typical innings
Mohammad Shahzad played a typical innings
©Afghanistan Cricket Board

Bost Defenders captain Gulbadin Naib staged a fantastic recovery act for his side as they registered a fine come from behind four wicket win over Mis-e-Ainak Knights at the Kabul International Cricket Stadium on Friday afternoon.

After opting to bat, Knights were well served by wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Shahzad's unbeaten blitzkrieg of 106 off 64 balls with 15 boundaries and three sixes. Shahzad shared a 56-run opening stand with Bahar Shinwari (31) and thereafter had a 117-run stand for the third wicket with Ghamai Zadran (35 n.o.). Knights ended at an impressive 188 for two in their 20 overs. For Defenders, Karim Janat (2-34) was the best bowler on view.

In their response, Defenders slipped to 98 for five and then 111 for six. Ihsanullah (45: 34b, 3x4, 2x6) was the one who held the innings earlier.

Thereafter, Defenders captain Naib took charge as he tonked at will. He smashed a 27-ball 54 with two boundaries and five sixes. He shared a 81 run unbroken stand for the seventh wicket with Tahir Khan (28 n.o.). The victory was achieved off the final delivery of the match as a boundary was struck to seal to the deal as Defenders finished at 192 for six.

Match Summary - Mis-e-Ainak Knights v Bost Defenders, 11th Match, Shpageeza T20 Cricket League

Mis-e-Ainak Knights 188-2 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-56 (Bahar Shinwari-6.6 ov), 2-71 (Hashmatullah Shahidi-8.6 ov)

Bost Defenders 192-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Imran Janat-1.3 ov), 2-31 (Shafiqullah Ghafari-2.5 ov), 3-48 (Karim Janat-4.4 ov), 4-49 (Rahmat Shah-5.1 ov), 5-98 (Munir Ahmad-11.4 ov), 6-111 (Ihsanullah-13.4 ov)

Result - Bost Defenders won by four wickets


Playing XI
Mis-e-Ainak Knights: Mohammad Shahzad (wicket-keeper), Bahar Shinwari, Hashamtullah Shahidi, Ghami Zadran, Abdul Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Shapoor Zadran (captain), Abdullah Mazari, Shahidullah, Pakhtoon Sarfaraz, Mohammadullah Hamkar

Bost Defenders: Imran Janat, Karim Janat, Shafiqullah Ghafari, Ihsanullah, Rahmat Shah, Munir Ahmad (wicket-eekeper), Gulbadin Naib (captain), Tahir Khan, Sayed Shirzad, Amir Hamza, Waqarullah Ishaq