< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Shpageeza 2020: Shirzad, Naib star in Defenders' win

Sayed Shirzad bowled a terrific spell
Sayed Shirzad bowled a terrific spell
©Afghanistan Cricket Board

Bost Defenders registered an impressive 57-run win over Kabul Defenders in the third match of the Shpageeza T20 Cricket League.

At the Kabul International Cricket Stadium, Defenders opted to bat and posted an impressive 172 for three in their 20 overs. Opener Imran Janat (43: 27b, 4x4, 2x6) led the way. He shared a crucial 60-run stand with Ihsanullah (29) for the second wicket. Late in the innings Munir Ahmad (41 n.o.: 28b, 6x4) played a crucial hand in maximising the score. For Eagles the bowlers really struggled to apply the brakes on the scoring.

In their chase, Eagles werre reduced to 24 for four in just 5.4 overs. It required a 56 run fifth wicket stand between Sediqullah Atal (32: 29b, 2x4) and Azmatullah Omarzai (28: 25b, 2x4, 1x6) to revive the innings. Thereafter there was another collapse as Eagles slid to 84 for eight. In the end Eagles were shot out for 115.

For Defenders the best bowlers were Man of the Match Sayed Shirzad (3-7) and captain Gulbadin Naib (3-23). Karim Janat with figures of two for 30 was the other bowler to watch out for.

Match Summary- Bost Defenders v Kabul Eagles, Match 3, Shpageeza T20 Cricket League
Bost Defenders 172-3 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-36 (Karim Janat-5.1 ov), 2-96 (Imran Janat-10.4 ov), 3-99 (Ihsanullah-11.3 ov), 3-125* (Rahmat Shah-retired not out)

Kabul Eagles 115 (19.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Rahmanullah Gurbaz-0.1 ov), 2-9 (Noor Ali Zadran-2.1 ov), 3-16 (Samiullah Shinwari-3.5 ov), 4-24 (Younas Ahmadzai-5.4 ov), 5-80 (Azmatullah Omarzai-12.2 ov), 6-82 (Sediqullah Atal-12.6 ov), 7-84 (Ziaur Rahman-13.3 ov), 8-84 (Nangeyalia Kharote-13.4 ov), 9-114 (Zia-ur-Rehman-18.6 ov), 10-115 (Farmanullah-19.1 ov)

Result - Bost Defenders won by 57 runs


Playing XI

Bost Defenders: Gulbadin Naib (captain), Karim Janat, Imran Janat, Karim Janat, Ihsanullah, Rahmat Shah, Munir Ahmad (wciekt-keeper), Shafiqullah Ghafari, Amir Hamza, Tahir Khan, Mohammad Saleem, Sayed Shirzad

Kabul Eagles: Saminullah Shinwari, Rahamnullah Gurbaz (captain), Sediqullah Atal, Noor Ali Zadran, Younas Ahmadzai, Azmatullah Omarazai, Ziaur Rehman Akbar, Farmanullah Safi, Nangeyalia Kharote, Zia-ur-Rehman, Nijat Masood