< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Shpageeza 2020: Teenaged Surkhorodi emerges as new star

Tamim Surkhorodi pulls one during his terrific knock
Tamim Surkhorodi pulls one during his terrific knock
©Afghanistan Cricket Board

Teenaged opener Tamim Surkhorodi starred in Speen Ghar Tigers' narrow five run win over Bost Defenders in the Shpageeza T20 Cricket League at the Kabul International Cricket Stadium.

After opting to field, Defenders found the going tough as Tigers batting took charge. Opener Tamim Surkhorodi at 19 scored a 48-ball 79 with four boundaries and six sixes. He shared a 107 run second wicket stand with wicket-keeper batsman Majeed Alam (52 n.o.: 44b, 4x4, 1x6). Tigers finished at 175 for three in their 20 overs. The only Defenders bowler to create any impact was Amir Hamza (2-22).

In their chase, Defenders slipped to 65 for four. Opener Karim Janat (51: 30b, 2x4, 5x6) held the fort for Defenders. There was another collapse of the middle-order. Wahidullah Ali (20), captain Gulbadin Naib (35) and Shafiqullah Ghafari (25) played cameos but it was never enough to challenge Tigers.

For Tigers the wickets were shared by Zubaid Akbari (2-18), Abdullah Adil (2-32) and Zahid Khan (2-39).

In the end Defenders finished at 170 for eight in their 20 overs, five runs short of the target.

Match Summary - Speen Ghar Tigers v Bost Defenders, 8th Match, Shpageeza T20 Cricket League

Speen Ghar Tigers 175-3 (20)

Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Zubaid Akbari-3.3 ov), 2-120 (Tamim Surkhorodi-14.3 ov), 3-135 (Karim Sadiq-16.2 ov)

Bost Defenders 170-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Imran Janat-0.4 ov), 2-2 (Ihsanullah-0.6 ov), 3-61 (Rahmat Shah-6.6 ov), 4-65 (Karim Janat-7.5 ov), 5-105 (Munir Ahmad-13.5 ov), 6-108 (Wahidullah Ali-14.5 ov), 7-153 (Gulbadin Naib-18.3 ov), 8-170 (Shafiqullah Ghafari-19.5 ov)

Result - Speen Ghar Tigers won by five runs


Playing XI

Speen Ghar Tigers: Tamim Surkhorodi, Zubaid Akbari, Majeeb Alam (wicket-keeper), Karim Sadiq (captain), Waheedullah Shafaq, Abdullah Adil, Perwez Malikzai, Nasir Khan, Qais Ahmad, Zahid Khan, Aftab Alam

Bost Defenders: Karim Janat, Imran Janat, Ihsanullah, Rahmat Shah, Munir Ahmad (wicket-keeper), Wahidullah Ali, Gulbadin Naib (captain), Shafiqullah Ghafari, Amir Hamza, Sayed Shirzad, Mohammad Saleem