< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Shreyas Iyer included for T20I series against New Zealand

Kedar Jadhav has been dropped from the squad after a series of low scores
Kedar Jadhav has been dropped from the squad after a series of low scores

Indian selectors have included uncapped batsman Shreyas Iyer and fast bowler Mohammad Siraj for the upcoming Twenty20 International series against New Zealand.

Iyer has been one of the standout performers for India A squad in the series against the South Africa and New Zealand counterparts and has been knocking on the doors of selection for quite a while. He has played 53 Twenty20 games previously in which he scored 1289 runs at a strike-rate of 128.

The 22-year-old will replace Kedar Jadhav from the squad that played against Australia. Jadhav has managed only 150 runs from his last six One-Day Internationals and added 27 runs in the only T20I game, he featured against Australia.

Siraj also had an impressive outing for India A squad and had a productive season for his franchise Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League season earlier this year.

Meanwhile, Ashish Nehra, who is set to bow out of international cricket has been picked for the first game to give an opportunity to play his final game at his home ground but the selectors insisted that his selection in the XI will be up to the team management.

The three-match T20I series will be played between 1st and 7th November in Delhi, Rajkot and Thiruvananthapuram.

India squad for T20I series against New Zealand:

Virat Kohli (captain) Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra (1st T20I), Mohammad Siraj.

© Cricket World 2017