Six West Indies Women Earn Retainer Contracts

Six West Indies Women Earn Retainer Contracts
Six West Indies Women Earn Retainer Contracts
©Action Images / Paul Harding

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has awarded six of its leading women cricketers retainer contracts for the year-long period from October 2010 to September 2010.

They are Stafanie Taylor, Deandra Dottin, Merissa Aguillera, Anisa Mohammed, Stacy Ann King and Shanel Daley. Taylor and Dottin are on Grade A contracts while the other four players are on Grade B contracts.

“The Board of Directors took a decision that the WICB must commit to ensuring that our women players have a level of personal security which will assist as they continue their climb to the top of world cricket,” WICB CEO Dr. Ernest Hilaire said.

“The granting of these six retainer contracts represents a start and we are hoping to expand the programme in coming years.

“This is a tangible commitment to the players that the WICB is very serious about women’s cricket and its development in the region.

“We have re-activated the women’s cricket programme in a serious way and we have been working steadily to ensure that our women’s team play more cricket on international tours.

“The players have repaid the investment of the WICB thus far by showing that they are determined and committed to realising their goal of making the West Indies Women’s Team the best in the world.

“This is an exciting period of revitalization of women’s cricket and we see the awarding of Central Retainer Contracts to these six outstanding players as another positive step in the development of West Indies women’s cricket,” he added.

The West Indies Women enjoyed a successful year in 2010, beating world champions England at home in , reaching the semi-finals of the , beating South Africa away and then finishing as runners-up to South Africa in the ICC Women's Cricket Challenge in Potchefstroom.

They then beat Sri Lanka Women in the Twenty20 final of the Challenge event, also in Potchefstroom.

They begin a five-match ODI series on 10th January, which is followed by three Twenty20 Internationals.

© Cricket World 2010