< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

SL v Ind, Super 4, Match 3, Asia Cup: Sri Lanka almost knock India out

Sri Lanka delivered a massive knockout blow to India as they won by six wickets in a crucial Super 4 encounter of Asia Cup 2022 on Tuesday night.

At the Dubai International Stadium, India posted 173 for eight in 20 overs after being asked to bat and in response Sri Lanka chased down the target in 19.5 overs to finish on 174 for four.

Earlier, India lost early wickets as they were struggling at 13 for two in 2.4 overs. Thereafter, captain Rohit Sharma (72: 41b, 5x4, 4x6) added 97 runs for the third wicket with Suryakumar Yadav (34). But after Yadav and Sharma fell the innings started struggling. Towards the end India lost wickets in a heap as they finished on 173 for eight in their 20 overs. For Sri Lanka the best bowlers were Dilshan Madushanka (3-24), Chamika Karunaratne (2-27) and captain Dasun Shanaka (2-26).

Sri Lanka started the chase in hectic fashion. Their openers Pathum Nissanka (52: 37b, 4x4, 2x6) and Kusal Mendis (57: 37b, 4x4, 3x6) added 97 for the first wicket. But there was a brief collapse as Sri Lanka lost four wickets for 13 runs to struggle at 110 for four in 14.1 overs. That's when captain Shanaka (33 n.o.) and Bhanuka Rajapaksa (25 n.o.) added an unbroken 64 runs for the fifth wicket. Sri Lanka chased down the target in 19.5 overs to finish on 174 for four. For India the best bowler was Yuzvendra Chahal (3-34). 

Match Summary
India: 173-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (KL Rahul-1.5 ov), 2-13 (Virat Kohli-2.4 ov), 3-110 (Rohit Sharma-12.2 ov), 4-119 (Suryakumar Yadav-14.2 ov), 5-149 (Hardik Pandya-17.3 ov), 6-157 (Deepak Hooda-18.1 ov), 7-158 (Rishabh Pant-18.3 ov), 8-164 (Bhuvneshwar Kumar-19.3 ov)

Sri Lanka: 174-4 (19.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-97 (Pathum Nissanka-11.1 ov), 2-97 (Charith Asalanka-11.4 ov), 3-110 (Danushka Gunathilaka-13.5 ov), 4-110 (Kusal Mendis-14.1 ov)

Result: Sri Lanka won by six wickets 


Top Tournament Stats

Top Batter (Runs Scored) 

Top Bowler (Wickets taken)

Most Sixes

Points Table

Playing XIs
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Deepak Hooda, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri Lanka: Kusal Mendis (wicket-keeper), Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Danushka Gunathilaka, Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Asitha Fernando, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka

Match Details
Toss: Sri Lanka, elected to field
Venue: Dubai International Stadium, Dubai
Match officials: Ahsan Raza, Bismillah Jan Shinwari (On-field Umpires); Ahmed Shah Pakteen (TV Umpire); Asif Yaqoob (Reserve Umpire); Andy Pycroft (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022