< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

SL v Pak, Asia Cup 2022 Final: Rajapaksa, Hasaranga lead Sri Lanka to sixth title

Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Wanindu Hasaranga starred with bat and ball to help Sri Lanka claim their sixth Asia Cup title as they beat Pakistan by 23 runs in the final on Sunday at the Dubai International Stadium.

Sri Lanka after being asked to bat posted 170 for six in their 20 overs and in response Pakistan were bowled out for 147 in their 20 overs.

Earlier, Sri Lanka lost early wickets and were reduced to 58 for five in 8.5 overs. It required a special effort from Rajapaksa to revive the Sri Lankan innings. They were in absolute dire straits and needed a special effort from Rajapaksa. Together with Wanindu Hasaranga (36), Rajapaksa (71n.o.: 45b, 6x4, 3x6) added 58 runs for the fifth wicket. Thereafter Rajapaksa teamed up with Chamika Karunaratne to add an unbroken 54 runs for the seventh wicket. In the end Sri Lanka made 170 for six in their 20 overs. For Pakistan the best bowler was Haris Rauf (3-29).

In their response, Pakistan lost two early wickets. With the side struggling at 22 for two, Mohammad Rizwan added 71 runs for the third wicket with Iftikhar Ahmed. The pace at which the duo added runs slowed down the chase. The pressure of the asking rate got to both batters. Ahmed fell for 32 and then soon after there was a collapse. Hasaranga struck thrice in the 17th over and that put paid to Pakistan's chances. Rizwan fell for 55 off 49 balls with four boundaries and a six. In the end Pakistan was bowled out for 147 in 20 overs. For Sri Lanka the best bowlers were Pramod Madushan (4-34), Wanindu Hasaranga (3-27) and Chamika Karunaratne (2-33).

This was Sri Lanka's sixth Asia Cup title.

Rajapaksa was named player of the match and Hasaranga was named player of the series. 

Match Summary
Sri Lanka: 170-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Kusal Mendis-0.3 ov), 2-23 (Pathum Nissanka-3.2 ov), 3-36 (Danushka Gunathilaka-5.1 ov), 4-53 (Dhananjaya de Silva-7.4 ov), 5-58 (Dasun Shanaka-8.5 ov), 6-116 (Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva-14.5 ov)

Pakistan: 147 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-22 (Babar Azam-3.2 ov), 2-22 (Fakhar Zaman-3.3 ov), 3-93 (Iftikhar Ahmed-13.2 ov), 4-102 (Mohammad Nawaz-15.2 ov), 5-110 (Mohammad Rizwan-16.1 ov), 6-111 (Asif Ali-16.3 ov), 7-112 (Khushdil Shah-16.5 ov), 8-120 (Shadab Khan-17.6 ov), 9-125 (Naseem Shah-18.2 ov), 10-147 (Haris Rauf-19.6 ov)

Result: Sri Lanka won by 23 runs

Asia Cup 2022: Top Tournament Stats

Top Batter (Runs Scored) 

Top Bowler (Wickets taken)

Most Sixes

Points Table 


Playing XIs
Sri Lanka: Kusal Mendis (wicket-keeper), Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Pramod Madushan

Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Babar Azam (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain

Match Details
Toss: Pakistan, elected to field
Venue: Dubai International Stadium, Dubai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Masudur Rahman (On-field Umpires); Bismillah Jan Shinwari (TV Umpire); Jayaraman Madanagopal (Reserve Umpire); Andy Pycroft (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2022