SLC Ban Umpires, Aroos Resigns

SLC Ban Umpires, Aroos Resigns
©REUTERS/Dinuka Liyanawatte. Picture Supplied by Action Images

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) have banned two umpires that were involved in a sting operation by India TV last year.

Sagara Gallage has been banned from officiating for 10 years, while Maurice Zilva has received a three-year ban. Neither umpire has stood in an international match, although a third official, Gamini Dissanayake, who was issued with a “severe warning” for his part in the corruption uncovered by reporters last year has been a reserve official at several fixtures involving Sri Lanka. He has been removed from SLC’s top umpires panel for a year.

All three were caught in the sting operation by India TV, along with counterparts from Pakistan and Bangladesh, agreeing to give favourable decisions or match information in return for a fee. The reporters in the sting offered the added carrot of future umpiring assignments in various domestic Twenty20 tournaments around the world.

The BCB and PCB have already issued bans to their umpires caught in the sting. Bangladesh’s Nadir Shah was banned for 10 years, with Pakistan’s Nadeem Ghauri and Anis Siddiqi relieved of their duties for four and three years respectively.

SLC also announced that women’s team manager  ARM Aroos has resigned following a complaint made against him by captain Shashikala Siriwardene last week, alleging extortion.

© Cricket World 2013