Smith And Kallis In Line For T20 Comeback

Smith And Kallis In Line For T20 Comeback
Smith And Kallis In Line For T20 Comeback
©REUTERS/Matt Bright. Picture Supplied by Action Images

South Africa have recalled Jacques Kallis and Graeme Smith to their provisional 30-man squad for the WorldTwenty20 in September. Kallis last played for the Proteas as a regular member of their T20 team in May 2010, while Smith was dropped before February’s three-match series against New Zealand.

Dane Vilas and Morne van Wyk have been named as possible alternatives to skipper AB de Villiers behind the stumps, while versatile all-rounder Roelof van der Merwe has also been included.

Several players who are currently competing in the ‘A’ team tri-series against Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka have also made the cut. They include Reeza Hendricks, Colin Ingram, Chris Morris, Aaron Phangiso and Richard Levi. Marchant de Lange, who was ruled out of South Africa’s Test series against England with a back injury, also makes a return.

South Africa provisional squad: AB de Villiers (captain, wicket-keeper), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Johan Botha, Marchant de Lange, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Colin Ingram, Jacques Kallis, Rory Kleinveldt, Richard Levi, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Aaron Phangiso, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Rusty Theron, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Roelof van der Merwe, Morne van Wyk (wicket-keeper), Dane Vilas (wicket-keeper).

© Cricket World 2012




Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.

ICC WT20 Final Video