< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Smith To Captain, Warner Rested

David Warner, Laura Marsh
Steve Smith (right) will captain Australia while David Warner (left) rests his sore hamstring
©REUTERS / Action Images

Steve Smith will captain Australia when they take on England in their third match of the One-Day International tri-series in Hobart on Friday.

Smith, who deputised for Michael Clarke during the Test series against India, steps in with Clarke unavailable due to injury and George Bailey serving a one-game suspension.

David Warner, who was fined 50 per cent of his match fee for a confrontation with Rohit Sharma during Australia's last match, has been rested for the game due to hamstring soreness.

Batsmen Shaun Marsh and Cameron White have been added to the squad in place of Bailey and Warner.

Fast bowler Josh Hazlewood has a minor heel injury and will not travel to Hobart, and nor will Mitchell Johnson due to personal reasons.

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith (captain), Patrick Cummins, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Gurinder Sandhu, Mitchell Starc, Shane Watson, Cameron White

© Cricket World 2015