< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

South Africa A v India A – 2nd Test ends in Draw

South Africa's Aiden Markram

A century by Priyank Panchal ensured there was no surprises on the final day of the second four-day Test between South Africa A and India A.

The right-hander struck a solid 109 (192 balls, 9 fours, 4 sixes) and batted most of the fourth day at the Srikantadatta Narasimha Raja Wadeyar Ground in Mysore where the game ended in a draw.

It meant that India A, who reached 202 for three declared, claimed the series with a 1-0 scoreline that they achieved with victory in the first Test at Trivandrum last week.

For the strong South African team, which featured seven players in the senior Standard Bank Proteas Test squad that will play India in a three-match series next month, it was not the ideal end to the trip, although they can take plenty of encouragement from some of the individual performances in the match.

After man-of-the-match Aiden Markram’s 161 and an unbeaten 131 from Wiaan Mulder the previous day, the visitors would have been aiming for early inroads when the hosts resumed on 14 for none at the start.

But the openers put on 94, before Abhimanyu Easwaran (37) was bowled by Dane Piedt, who three balls later dismissed India’s latest Test call-up and in-form Shubman Gill, for a duck.

However, Panchal and Karun Nair (51 not out off 99 balls, 4 fours) put on 92 for the third wicket to end any hopes of an unlikely result.

Senuran Muthusamy, another player in the senior squad, was the man to dismiss Panchal for figures of one for 46 in 19 overs.

Protea Piedt, meanwhile, ended with five wickets in the match and plenty of overs under his belt heading into next month’s big Test series.

SA A four-day squad: Aiden Markram (Multiply Titans, capt), Theunis de Bruyn (Multiply Titans), Zubayr Hamza (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Lungi Ngidi (Multiply Titans), George Linde (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Pieter Malan (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Eddie Moore (Warriors), Senuran Muthusamy (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Marco Jansen (VKB Knights), Dane Piedt (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Wiaan Mulder (Imperial Lions), Heinrich Klaasen (Multiply Titans), Lutho Sipamla (Warriors), Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins). 

©Cricket World 2019