< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

South Africa add Duanne Olivier, Chris Morris in squad for final two Tests

Chris Morris returns back to South Africa Test squad
Chris Morris returns back to South Africa Test squad

South Africa have recalled fast bowler Duanne Olivier and all-rounder Chirs Morris in the squad for the final two Test series against Australia.

The decision follows after Kagiso Rabada, who picked a stunning 11-wicket haul in the second Test that helped Proteas level the series has been suspended by the International Cricket Council (ICC) following a breach of conduct.

Rabada can still appear in the third Test if he succeeds in his appeal against the decision of the ICC to award him three demerit points in the second game following his aggressive reaction following the dismissal of Australian captain Steven Smith. The appeal will take place on Monday.

With Dale Steyn also unavailable as he continues his rehabilitation, in the probability of Rabada missing the final two games, it will be Morris, Olivier, Morne Morkel and uncapped Wiaan Mulder, who will be competing to take the place of the 22-year-old for the third Test that kicks-off on 22nd March in Cape Town.

“Circumstances have forced us to name a large squad at this stage so that we can cover all possible options,” Cricket South Africa national selection panel convener Linda Zondi said in a media statement on Sunday.

“We have retained the 15 players who produced an excellent performance to level the (second) test in Port Elizabeth.

“Olivier was the pick of our bowlers for South Africa A in their tour match against Australia while Morris has been in excellent form in domestic cricket, taking four wickets in an innings and making more than 150 runs, including a century, for the Titans in the (domestic four-day) Sunfoil Series.”

South Africa Squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Theunis de Bruyn, AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Wiaan Mulder, Lungisani Ngidi, Duanne Olivier, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada.

© Cricket World 2018