South Africa Are Campus Cricket World Champions

South Africa beat teams from around the world to be crowned the 2014 Red Bull Campus Cricket world champions at The Kia Oval on Saturday.

After the group stages were held at Wormsley, university teams from South Africa, Australia, India and the West Indies headed to London for finals day.

The West Indies team beat the Austrailans before the South Africans beat their Indian counterparts in the lsat over of their clash to set up the final.

While South Africa had won every single match ahead of the final, the West Indies had lost to Bangladesh and South Africa before beating Australia to get through.

Batting first, the South Africans, represented by Assupol TUKS, got off to a flyer with Johan Wessels hitting 61 in 40 balls and they eventually reached 188, setting the West Indians a stiff target.

An early wicket kept South Africa in control before Cassius Burton made 55 to keep their hopes alive.

However, South Africa proved too strong and with Vincent Moore taking four wickets and Corbin Bosch three, they ran out 40-run winners when the West Indians were restricted to 148 for nine.

"The whole experience has been fantastic," South Africa's captain, Theunis de Bruyn, said.

"It’s been great to meet all the guys from around the world and it’s been a pleasure playing against them.

"We were very proud of being chosen to represent our country and to lift the Red Bull Campus Cricket World Finals trophy here at The Kia Oval was unbelievable."

De Bruyn had double cause for celebration after being named as the player of the tournament, scoring 209 runs while team-mate Wessels was named as the player of the final.

© Cricket World 2014