< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

South Africa beat Zimbabwe by 34 runs in 1st T20I at Buffalo Park

Debutante Rassie van der Dussen 56 for South Africa
Kyle Jarvis 3-47 for Zimbabwe
Imran Tahir 5-23 for South Africa

South Africa won the toss and decided to bat against Zimbabwe in the 1st T20I at Buffalo Park, East London today.


South Africa  160 - 6 (20.0 overs) – (Rassie van der Dussen 56,David Miller 39; Kyle Jarvis 3-47

Zimbabwe  126 (17.2 overs) – (Peter Moor 44; Imran Tahir 5-23)

Result – South Africa won by 34 runs


At 11-2 South Africa were in some trouble, however, skipper Faf du Plessis 34 and then a great partnership of 87 between debutante Rassie van der Dussen 56 and David Miller 39 took their score to 160-6 in their 20 overs. Kyle Jarvis 3-47 was the pick of the Zimbabwe bowlers.

In reply, Zimbabwe were undone again by Imran Tahir, who bowled beautifully for his match winning 5-23. Although a spirited knock by Peter Moor 44 and Brandon Mavuta 28 did give Zimbabwe a glimmer of hope, they were eventually dismissed for 126 in 17.2 overs. Imran Tahir was Player of the Match.

South Africa - Quinton de Kock(wk), Gihahn Cloete, Faf du Plessis(c), Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Christiaan Jonker, Andile Phehlukwayo, Junior Dala, Imran Tahir, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi

Zimbabwe - Chamu Chibhabha, Hamilton Masakadza(c), Brendan Taylor(wk), Tarisai Musakanda, Sean Williams, Peter Moor, Elton Chigumbura, Brandon Mavuta, Kyle Jarvis, Tendai Chisoro, Christopher Mpofu

©Cricket World 2018