South Africa Book Final Place

South Africa Women celebrate
South Africa Women were ruthless in dispatching a limp Ireland.

South Africa 54-2 (Chetty 24) beat
Ireland 53 (van Niekerk 3-8) by 8 wickets
Women’s 50-Over Tri-Series, Match 5, Doha

South Africa and Pakistan will contest the final of the Qatar International Women’s Cricket Championship on Friday after the former hammered Ireland today by eight wickets in Doha.

Ireland were bundled out for 53 - the second lowest total in their history - after being asked to bat to follow on from dismissals for 73 and 92 in their earlier games. Only Melissa Scott-Hayward reached double figures as Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp and Chloe Tryon each took a brace of wickets and Dane van Niekerk took three for eight.

The Proteas then knocked off the runs inside 14 overs for the late loss of openers Lizelle Lee and Trisha Chetty; the latter caught off Isobel Joyce.

Following the defeat, new Ireland coach Trent Johnston was quick to shift the side’s focus to the Twenty 20 matches to follow now that Ireland can no longer reach the final.

"It's all about moving forward now putting these ODI's behind them,” Johnston said. "They'll learn from the experience gained but there's no doubt it's been a tough education. Our focus now switches to T20 preparation for not only the games here but the T20 World Cup. We'll be training hard for that starting with an early morning session in the morning."

Ireland’s woes began soon after they had been asked to bat by a South Africa side still smarting from their defeat at the hands of Pakistan on Sunday. They lost one of their more in-form batters, opener Clare Shillington, via a run-out with the score on just nine. What followed was a procession of wickets as Cecelia Joyce (5), Emma Flanagan (2), Isobel Joyce (1), Rebecca Rolfe (0) and Elene Tice (3) were all sent packing before the score had reached 20.

Van Niekerk took two of the wickets with her leg-spin, while Tryon accounted for Flanagan and Tice, and Ismail struck to remove Cecelia Joyce en route to remarkably parsimonious figures of 10-7-5-2.

Scott-Hayward and wicket-keeper Mary Waldron did mount a mini-fightback with a seventh-wicket stand of 21, but it proved to be only temporary respite. Waldron was caught off Kapp for eight, with Louise McCarthy following in the same over. Scott-Hayward was last woman out to van Niekerk for a battling 20 off 71 balls, having hit the only boundary in the Irish innings. She did at least manage to edge her side past their lowest ever ODI total - the 46 they made against Australia in 2001.

The South African opening pair of Lizelle Lee and Trisha Chetty then ensured that the run chase was, as expected, a formality by knocking off 43 of the runs before being parted. Lee was then run-out when on 15 by Scott-Hayward, with Chetty’s innings coming to an end when she was caught by Lucy O’Reilly off Isobel Joyce for 24 the very next over. Captain Mignon du Preez (6 not out) and Marizanne Kapp (5 not out) saw the Proteas home.

South Africa complete the group phase by playing a dead rubber against Pakistan tomorrow ahead of Friday’s final. Ireland’s next action, meanwhile, is in the Twenty20 series which begins on Sunday.

© Cricket World 2014

Fixtures & Results

10th January: Ireland v Pakistan
PAK 183-9 beat IRE 73 by 110 runs
11th January: Ireland v South Africa
Match abandoned due to rain
12th January: Pakistan v South Africa
PAk 126-6 beat RSA 125-8 by 4 wickets
13th January: Ireland v Pakistan
PAK 93-3 beat IRE 92 by 7 wickets
14th January: Ireland v South Africa
RSA 54-2 beat IRE 53 by 8 wickets
15th January: Pakistan v South Africa
RSA 105-7 beat PAK 101 by 3 wickets
17th January: FINAL
RSA 95-6 beat PAK 94 by 4 wickets
Fixtures & Results

19th January: Pakistan v South Africa
PAK 65-4 beat RSA 64 by 6 wickets
19th January: Ireland v Pakistan
IRE 98-4 beat PAK 97-4 by 6 wickets
20th January: Ireland v South Africa
RSA 119-2 beat IRE 73-8 by 46 runs
20th January: Pakistan v South Africa
PAK 132-5 beat 111-5 by 21 runs
22nd January: Ireland v South Africa
RSA 102-1 beat IRE 101-7 by 9 wickets
22nd January: Pakistan v South Africa
RSA 97-3 beat PAK 96 by 7 wickets
24th January: FINAL
PAK 72-3 beat RSA 68-9 by 7 wickets