< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

South Africa Call Up Piedt, Van Zyl

South Africa celebrate a wicket
South Africa play three One-Day Internationals and two Tests in Sri Lanka
©REUTERS / Action Images

South Africa have called up uncapped pair Dane Piedt and Stiaan van Zyl in their Test squad to tour Sri Lanka with Beuran Hendricks in the One-Day International squad for the first time.

Quinton de Kock and Kyle Abbott remain in the squad having been called up as injury replacements for the Proteas' most recent Test series against Australia and leg-spinner Imran Tahir has been recalled.

Missing out are Thami Tsolekile, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren and Robin Peterson and Graeme Smith has retired.

Hendricks, who has played Twenty20 International cricket, and recently featured in the Indian Premier League, replaces Lonwabo Tsotsobe, who is recovering from ankle surgery, in the ODI squad.

Sri Lanka v South Africa tour schedule

3rd July: Warm-up game, Moratuwa

6th July: 1st ODI, R Premadesa, Colombo
9th July: 2nd ODI, Pallekele
12th July: 3rd ODI, Hambantota

16th-20th July: 1st Test, Galle
24th-28th July: 2nd Test, SSC, Colombo

Faf du Plessis replaces Smith and Aaron Phangiso is added as the second specialist spinner.

"Van Zyl and Piedt have been outstanding throughout the Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras’ successful Sunfoil Series campaign, finishing up as leading runs scorer and wicket-taker respectively," Cricket South Africa (CSA) selection convener Andrew Hudson explained.

"This emphasises once again the consistent route the selectors have always followed to recognise form through the pipeline path of franchise and South Africa A performance.

"The tour to Sri Lanka obviously has different tactical considerations to a home series and that required us to alter the balance between our seam and spin bowling options.

"These two squads are well equipped to take us forward as on the one hand we endeavour to regain the world No. 1 Test ranking and on the other to have a successful run-up to next year’s ICC World Cup."

South Africa Test squad: Hashim Amla (captain), AB de Villiers (vice-captain), Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Dale Steyn, Stiaan van Zyl

South Africa ODI squad: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla (vice-captain), Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Beuran Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Jacques Kallis, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn

© Cricket World 2014