South Africa Call Up Uncapped Trio For India Twenty20

South Africa Call Up Uncapped Trio For India Twenty20
South Africa Call Up Uncapped Trio For India Twenty20
©REUTERS / Action Images

South Africa could hand Twenty20 International debuts to three players when they take on India in a the one-off game in Johannesburg on 30th March.

Batsman Farhaan Behardien and wicket-keeper Dane Vilas are given their first international call-ups while Francois du Plessis will make his debut in the game.

The 13-man squad will be captained by Johan Botha as both AB de Villiers and Hashim Amla are rested for the match.

"We are leaving all the players out who are involved in the current Test match against New Zealand with the exception of Jacques Kallis for whom there are special circumstances," CSA selection convener Andrew Hudson said.

"They will arrive back home two days before the start of the match, having travelled halfway across the world, including a 10-hour time difference, and we don’t believe they will be in any condition to play an international game of cricket.

"We still have a very strong squad for this important match including the bulk of the players who won the T20 International series in New Zealand.

"The three players who have been called up for the first time have all done extremely well in the domestic equivalent and this follows our policy of rewarding good domestic form. Behardien (1st) and Vilas (3rd) are currently high up the batting averages for the MiWay T20 Challenge and they also have imposing strike rates.

"We have chosen a squad of 13 as there is some doubt about the fitness of Kallis who has been ruled out of the current Test match. The team management needs to have plenty of options available such is Kallis’ all-round value to the side."

South Africa Twenty20 International squad: Johan Botha (captain), Farhaan Behardien, Francois du Plessis, Jacques Kallis, Colin Ingram, Richard Levi, Albie Morkel, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Juan Theron, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Morne van Wyk, Dane Vilas

© Cricket World 2012