< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

South Africa complete 3-0 series whitewash after innings victory in Johannesburg

Duanne Olivier celebrating the wicket of Dhananjaya de Silva
Duanne Olivier celebrating the wicket of Dhananjaya de Silva

South Africa 426 (Duminy 155) beat
Sri Lanka 131 & 177 (f/o) (Parnell 4-51) by an innings and 118 runs
Third Test, Johannesburg, day three

Wayne Parnell picked six wickets in the game as South Africa wrapped up Sri Lanka for 177 in the final innings to complete an innings victory in the third Test in Johannesburg and secured a 3-0 series whitewash.

Sri Lanka resumed their first innings at 80 for four, trailing South Africa by 346 runs. It took South Africa just three overs to strike as Vernon Philander (3-28) had Dinesh Chandimal (5) caught behind while Kagiso Rabada (3-44) had Angelo Mathews (19) out in a similar fashion.

It took Duanne Olivier (2-19) 38 deliveries to get his maiden Test wicket when Rangana Herath (8) pulled one to deep square leg and soon he also had the better of Upul Tharanga (24).

Sri Lanka were eventually dismissed for 131 in the first innings and were forced to follow on.

With 295 runs behind, Sri Lanka start in the second innings wasn't encouraging when Kaushal Silva (0) edged a Rabada (2-50) delivery behind the stumps. Sri Lanka went into lunch at 13 for one.

Dimuth Karunaratne (50) and Kusal Mendis (24) had a brief 34-run stand but Parnell (4-51) castled the latter to dent Sri Lanka's hopes.

Karunaratne provided some joy to the visitors when he reached his fifty - first for Sri Lanka in the innings but with the South African pacers pegging away wickets at regular intervals, only Tharanga (26) and Suranga Lakmal (31) showed some fight.

Parnell was the pick of the bowlers with a four-wicket haul while Olivier (3-38), Rabada and Philander (1-35) were the other wicket takers. JP Duminy was named the player of the match while Dean Elgar bagged the man of the series.

© Cricket World 2017