South Africa Name Unchanged Squad For England Tour

South Africa Name Unchanged Squad For England Tour
South Africa Name Unchanged Squad For England Tour
©REUTERS / Action Images

South Africa have named an unchanged 15-man Test squad ahead of their much-anticipated tour of England later this summer.

The same set of players that beat New Zealand 1-0 in March has been selected for the three-Test series between the two sides at the top of the ICC Test rankings.

The series gets underway on 19th July at The Oval before the two sides move on to Headingley and then Lord's.

"The players fully deserve a vote of confidence after the outstanding manner in which they outplayed New Zealand away from home," Cricket South Africa (CSA) selection convener Andrew Hudson said.

"We are now building up excellent depth in both the batting and bowling departments. This was highlighted by JP Duminy’s century when he was called up as an 11th hour replacement for Jacques Kallis.

"I believe most other countries would be very happy to have the fast bowling resources we have at the moment. Marchant de Lange has been most impressive since his outstanding debut against Sri Lanka while Lonwabo Tsotsobe gives us a left-arm option.

"Consistency has also been one of the key pillars of our selection policy and this is also contributing to our success on the field."

Graeme Smith has been cleared to play in the series and is expected to be fully fit following an ankle operation while AB de Villiers will act as reserve wicket-keeper to Mark Boucher.

South Africa Test squad: Graeme Smith (captain), Hasim Amla, Mark Boucher, Marchant de Lange, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Jacques Kallis, Morne Morkel, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Jacques Rudolph, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

© Cricket World 2012

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.