< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

South Africa opt for young squad for T20I series against Sri Lanka

Farhaan Behardien will lead South Africa in the T20I series against Sri Lanka
Farhaan Behardien will lead South Africa in the T20I series against Sri Lanka

The South African selectors have opted for a young and inexperienced squad for the three-match Twenty20 International series against Sri Lanka that will be led by Farhann Behardien.

The 13-man squad contains as many as six uncapped players while just four players - Behardien, David Miller, Imran Tahir, Aaron Phangiso were retained from the side that played in the World T20 in India last year.

Faf du Plessis, Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Chris Morris, and Kagiso Rabada were rested after a hectic Test season while the likes of AB de Villiers, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn and Chris Morris are yet to recover from their injuries.

Meanwhile, Kyle Abbott, Rilee Rossouw and David Wiese were not considered for selections after they recently signed Kolpak deals with English county clubs.

Linda Zondi, convener of selector said the series against Sri Lanka will present them an opportunity to see some of the promising youngsters perform at the international level.

"We have decided to rest some of our key senior players for this series," said Zondi.

"This is the last chance we have to do this as the ODI series that follows is an important part of our build-up to the Champions Trophy tournament in England in the middle of the year.

"Those senior players who are involved in the Indian Premier League will be playing non-stop from now until the end of August with the tours coming up to New Zealand and England in addition to the ICC event."

De Villiers and Morkel have a chance to return to the final game of the series in Cape Town on 25th January provided they prove their fitness in the Lisa A game on 22nd January.

South Africa squad for T20I series against Sri Lanka:

Farhaan Behardien (captain), Theunis de Bruyn, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Heino Kuhn, David Miller, Mangaliso Mosehle, Lungi Ngidi, Wayne Parnell, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Jon-Jon Smuts

© Cricket World 2017