< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

South Africa tour of India, 2022: Full squads, Fixtures & Preview: All you need to know

India's Shreyas Iyer takes a quick single
India's Shreyas Iyer takes a quick single

With the dust having settled on IPL 2022, it is time for Team India to get back to International cricket, with the side hosting South Africa for a 5-match T20I series to kick off the proceedings.

Fixtures and Stats - South Africa tour of India, 2022

Some of the biggest Indian names like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Mohd Shami and Jasprit Bumrah have been rested to take a break before getting ready for the England tour. KL Rahul has been named the captain while Rishabh Pant has been picked as the vice-captain.

Sunrisers Hyderabad's tearaway pacer Umran Malik and Punjab Kings' crafty medium pacer Arshdeep Singh are the new and exciting inclusions in the squad. Hardik Pandya and Dinesh Karthik, after brilliant IPL campaigns, have found a way back in the limited-overs set-up.

The three highlights of the South African squad start with the return of Anrich Nortje to the T20I squad. Tristan Stubbs, a promising 21-year-old middle order batter from the Eastern Cape who has scored 506 runs in 17 senior T20 innings and made his IPL debut for Mumbai Indians this season, also gets his maiden call-up.

Wayne Parnell finds a place in the T20I side for the first time since 2017.

All eyes will be on key men Quinton de Kock, David Miller and Kagiso Rabada as far as the Proteas are concerned.

The 5-match series begins with the T20I at the Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi on June 9.


 - KL Rahul (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (vc, wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik.

South Africa - Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen, Marco Jansen.


Jun 09, Thu
India vs South Africa, 1st T20I
Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

Jun 12, Sun
India vs South Africa, 2nd T20I
Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

Jun 14, Tue
India vs South Africa, 3rd T20I
Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam

Jun 17, Fri
India vs South Africa, 4th T20I
Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot

Jun 19, Sun
India vs South Africa, 5th T20I
M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

© Cricket World 2022