< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

South Africa Unchanged For Zimbabwe Test

South Africa celebrate their series win in Sri Lanka
South Africa have named an unchanged Test squad to take on Zimbabwe
©REUTERS / Action Images

Fresh from a historic 1-0 series win in Sri Lanka, South Africa have named an unchanged 15-man squad for the one-off Test against Zimbabwe next month.

South Africa won the opening Test against Sri Lanka in Galle by 153 runs before holding on to draw the second match in Colombo to claim a first series win in the country since 1993.

It also helped them move back to the top of the ICC Test rankings.

The same group of players that travelled to Sri Lanka will now head to Zimbabwe, where they play a single Test beginning on 9th August.

"The Proteas have earned a vote of confidence," Cricket South Africa selection convener Andrew Hudson said.

"We will be naming the ODI squad for the three-match series against Zimbabwe next week and will give consideration to resting a couple of players.

"We will, however, be sending our full-strength ODI squad for the following triangular series against Zimbabwe and Australia."

The unchanged squad includes uncapped players Dane Piedt and Stiaan van Zyl, who were not selected to play in Sri Lanka.

South Africa Test squad: Hashim Amla (captain), AB de Villiers (vice-captain), Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Dale Steyn, Stiaan van Zyl

© Cricket World 2014