< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

SA v Ind 1st Test Day 1: Rahul century puts India on top

India took complete control of the first day's play in the first Test of the Freedom Series against South Africa at the Supersport Park in Centurion.

On Sunday, after opting to bat first India ended the opening day's play at 272 for three in their 90 overs. The star of the show for India was opener Lokesh Rahul who struck an unbeaten 122 off 244 balls.

Earlier, India began confidently after winning the toss thanks to their openers Rahul and his partner Mayank Agarwal. The duo added 117 for the opening wicket as India pressed home the advantage. In the first session the pair added 83 runs and in the second session India appeared to be cruising. Just then Lungi Ngidi struck and thanks to a smart review South Africa managed to strike first blow. Agarwal fell for 60 off 123 balls with nine boundaries.

Then off the very next ball Cheteshwar Pujara was dismissed by Ngidi for a duck.

At that stage India required a useful stand to revive the innings. Rahul added a further 82 runs for the third wicket with captain Virat Kohli. Just when it seemed like Kohli would press on to make a big score he was dismissed chasing a widish delivery. Kohli fell for 35 to become Ngidi's third wicket.

Then former vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane arrived and immediately appeared confident. He may have been out of form before the Test, but he struck useful boundaries to show some spark. At the other end Rahul raced to his seventh Test hundred. India finished the day on a confident 272 for three in their 90 overs. Rahul finished on an unbeaten 122 off 244 balls with 17 boundaries and a six. Rahane was giving Rahul company with an unbeaten 40 off 81 balls with eight boundaries.

For South Africa the lone wicket-taker was Ngidi with figures of three for 45. South Africa handed Marco Jansen his first Test cap.

Mayank Agarwal, Member, Indian Cricket Team, addressed a virtual press conference in Centurion after Day 1 of the 1st Test against South Africa.


Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 272-3 (90)
Fall of wickets: 1-117 (Mayank Agarwal-40.2 ov), 2-117 (Cheteshwar Pujara-40.3 ov), 3-199 (Virat Kohli-68.2 ov)

End of Day 1: India won the toss and post 272 for three

Playing XIs

South Africa - Dean Elgar(c), Aiden Markram, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock(wk), Wiaan Mulder, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi

India - Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant(wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah Mohammed Siraj

Match Details

Start Time: 08:00

Toss: India won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: SuperSport Park, Centurion

Officials: Adrian Holdstock, Marais Erasmus (On-field Umpires); Allahudien Paleker (TV Umpire); Bongani Jele (Fourth Umpire); Andrew Pycroft (Match-referee)