< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

South Africa win only T20I against Australia in 10 Over Bash

Kagiso Rabada in full flight

Australia won the toss and decided to bowl at the Metricon Stadium, Carrara today against South Africa, in the only T20I match of the Tour.

Match Summary

South Africa 108 - 6 (Quinton de Kock 22, Faf du Plessis 27; Andrew Tye 2-18 and Nathan Coulter-Nile 2-19)

Australia 87-7 (Glenn Maxwell 38 ;Chris Morris 2- 12, Andile Phehlukwayo 2-21, Lungi Ngidi 2-12 )

Result – South Africa won by 21 runs


In a match reduced to 10 overs a side, because of the weather, South Africa smashed 108-6 in their allotted overs. Quinton de Kock 22 and Faf du Plessis 27 the main run getters for South Africa and Andrew Tye 2-18 and Nathan Coulter-Nile 2-19 the main wicket takers for Australia.

In reply, at 27-3 after 3 overs, Australia were in some trouble chasing 109 to win and from then on,were never really in the run chase. Some tight bowling from South Africa produced mistakes from the batsmen resulting in regular wickets falling. Australia scored  87-7 and South Africa won by 21 runs. Glenn Maxwell top scored for Australia with 38.Chris Morris 2- 12, Andile Phehlukwayo 2-21 and Lungi Ngidi 2-12 were the pick of bowlers for South Africa.


Australia - Aaron Finch(c), D'Arcy Short, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Ben McDermott, Alex Carey(wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, Billy Stanlake

South Africa - Quinton de Kock(wk), Reeza Hendricks, Faf du Plessis(c), David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Farhaan Behardien, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi

©Cricket World 2018