< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

South Africa wins 2nd T20I and takes series win against Sri Lanka

South Africa wins 2nd T20I and takes series win against Sri Lanka

Cricket South Africa has congratulated the Standard Bank Proteas on winning the KFC T20 International Series against Sri Lanka with a match to spare. The Proteas took a 2-0 lead in the three-match series when they beat the visitors by 16 runs at SuperSport Park on Friday evening.

Match Summary

South Africa 180 - 3 (Reeza Hendricks 65, Rassie van der Dussen 64, JP Duminy 33*; Lasith Malinga 1-26)

Sri Lanka 164-9 (Isuru Udana 84*; Chris Morris 3-32, Tabraiz Shamsi 2-16, Dale Steyn 2-34)

Result - South Africa won by 16 runs


Match Report

Reeza Hendricks and Rassie van der Dussen shared a South African record second wicket partnership against Sri Lanka and Dale Steyn and Chris Morris then both made a double strike with the new ball to put the Standard Bank Proteas well on their way to a series-clinching win in the second KFC T20 International match at SuperSport Park on Friday evening.

Victory by 16 runs gave the Proteas a 2-0 series win with just the final match to be played at the Bidvest Wanderers Stadium on Sunday afternoon (2.30pm start).

Hendricks (65 off 46 balls, 9 fours) and KFC Man of the Match Van der Dussen (a career best 64 off 44 balls, 4 fours and 3 sixes) set up the Proteas total of 180 with their partnership of 116 in 13 overs.

Once again, Sri Lanka were not able to lay any kind of foundation up front in their reply as Steyn, who went level with Imran Tahir (61 wickets) as South Africa’s leading wicket-taker in this format, and Morris tore the top order wide open.

It left Sri Lanka on 47/4 at the end of their power play and things steadily got worse as they subsided to 83/7 at the end of the 14th over. 

But, as has happened throughout the white ball section of the tour, they were not going to go down without a fight as long as Isuru Udana was around. He lived a charm life, being dropped once and then caught off what turned out to be a no ball on review, but there was no denying his power hitting that caused him to break one bat as he hammered his way to an unbeaten 84 off 54 balls (8 fours and 6 sixes).

Sri Lanka needed 72 off the last four overs but without his partners being able to give him much assistance the task proved beyond him with 32 required off the last over bowled by Lutho Sipamla.

Morris had the best bowling return of 3/32 and, in addition to Steyn, there were also two wickets for Tabraiz Shamsi who had the outstanding return of 2/16 from his four overs.

The Proteas gave debut appearances to Aiden Markram and Sinethemba Qeshile with the latter fitting comfortably into the wicketkeeping duties, taking two catches and not conceding any extras.

The Proteas can now attempt to complete a clean sweep in the final match at the Bidvest Wanderers Stadium on Sunday afternoon (14h30 start).

“Congratulations to captain Faf du Plessis, stand-in captain JP Duminy, head coach Ottis Gibson and all the players and support staff who have now won all their white-ball series, both home and away, during the course of the 2018/19 season,” commented CSA Chief Executive Thabang Moroe.

“Although these latest games have been in the shortest format these successes have been largely achieved by the players who will be representing us at the ICC Men’s World Cup later this year and our players have shown a very impressive winning culture.

“It is also highly encouraging to see the way players who have made their debut in the T20 format have established themselves at international level and this helps create a bigger pool of potential Proteas for our national selectors.

“You only have to look at the progress made this season by the likes of Rassie van der Dussen and Lutho Sipamla to see the new talent emerging. And we have had two new caps in the format in the latest series in Aiden Markram and Sinethemba Qeshile.

“I would also like to thank our fans who have come out in large numbers to support the Proteas throughout the season,” concluded Mr. Moroe.


South Africa - Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, JP Duminy(c), Chris Morris, Dwaine Pretorius, Sinethemba Qeshile(wk), Dale Steyn, Lutho Sipamla, Tabraiz Shamsi

Sri Lanka - Niroshan Dickwella(wk), Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Kamindu Mendis, Angelo Perera, Thisara Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Lasith Malinga(c), Jeffrey Vandersay

©Cricket World 2019