< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

South Africa withdraws from ODI series against Australia in January 2023

Australia's Travis Head
Australia's Travis Head

Cricket Australia (CA) has announced a revised 2022-23 international schedule following Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) decision to withdraw from the Dettol ODI Series in January.  

Since receiving CSA’s request to reschedule this series, CA and CSA had sought to find alternate timeslots for the Men’s ODIs fixtured in Hobart (Jan 12), Sydney (Jan 14) and Perth (Jan 17).  

Unfortunately, due to the congested international schedule including the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, there are no alternative dates available.  

CA has worked with State and Territory Associations, venue operators, government, broadcast and commercial partners to ensure the schedule continues to provide the best possible experience for cricket fans across Australia.  

This includes ensuring Hobart will host an Australian team this summer. 

As a result, three matches across the Dettol Men’s T20 International Series against the West Indies and England and the CommBank Women’s T20 International Series against Pakistan have been relocated. 
The relocated matches are:  
October 7: Dettol Men’s T20I v West Indies, The Gabba, Brisbane | previously Metricon Stadium 
October 9: Dettol Men’s T20I v England, Perth Stadium | previously The Gabba 
January 26: CommBank Women’s T20I v Pakistan, Blundstone Arena | previously Manuka Oval, January 27 
The ODI matches against South Africa are part of the ICC Super League which determines direct qualification for the ICC Men’s One-Day World Cup 2023.  

Given these games will not be played before the qualification cut-off date in May, CSA has agreed that Australia will be awarded the competition points pending ICC approval.  
Cricket Australia CEO Nick Hockley said:  
“It is disappointing that Cricket South Africa will be unable to contest the ODI series in January.  
“That said, we are delighted to be hosting South Africa for the three Test series which includes the Boxing Day and New Year’s Tests and with the comprehensive schedule of international cricket that will take place across Australia throughout the summer. 
“This will include the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup and a record six touring teams for the Men’s and Women’s international series as well as the twelfth season of the BBL and the eighth season of the WBBL. 

"We can't wait to see fans back at the cricket this summer." 
Tickets for the summer of cricket go on sale to the Australian Cricket Family on July 18 and to the general public on July 22.  
Men’s Dettol ODI Series v Zimbabwe 
August 28: Riverway Stadium, Townsville 
August 31: Riverway Stadium, Townsville 
September 3: Riverway Stadium, Townsville 
Men’s Dettol ODI Series v New Zealand 
September 6: Cazalys Stadium, Cairns (D/N) 
September 8: Cazalys Stadium, Cairns (D/N) 
September 11: Cazalys Stadium, Cairns (D/N) 
Men’s Dettol T20I Series v West Indies 
October 5: Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast (N) 
October 7: The Gabba, Brisbane (N) 
Men’s Dettol T20I Series v England 
October 9: Perth Stadium, Perth  
October 12: Manuka Oval, Canberra (N) 
October 14: Manuka Oval, Canberra (N) 
Men’s ICC T20 World Cup 
October 16-November 13 
Men’s Dettol ODI Series v England 
November 17: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (D/N) 
November 19: SCG, Sydney (D/N) 
November 22: MCG, Melbourne (D/N) 
Men’s Test Series v West Indies 
November 30 – December 4: Perth Stadium, Perth 
December 8 – December 12: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (D/N) 
Men’s Test Series v South Africa 
December 17 – December 21: The Gabba, Brisbane 
December 26 – December 30: MCG, Melbourne 
January 4 – January 8: SCG, Sydney 
Women’s CommBank ODI Series v Pakistan 
January 16: Allan Border Field, Brisbane 
January 18: Allan Border Field, Brisbane 
January 21: North Sydney Oval, Sydney 
Women’s CommBank T20I Series v Pakistan 

January 24: North Sydney Oval, Sydney 
January 26: Blundstone Arena, Hobart (N) 
January 29: Manuka Oval, Canberra 
*All matches and travel remain subject to any relevant government restrictions or requirements. CA reserves the right to change the 2022-23 international cricket schedule. 

Official Cricket Australia Website