< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

South Africa Women seal 2-1 series victory with thrilling four-run win

South Africa Women seal 2-1 series victory with thrilling four-run win
Mignon du Preez scored 32 off 37 deliveries for South Africa.
©REUTERS / Action Images

South Africa Women 119-3 (Lee 33no) beat
West Indies Women 115-8 (Dottin 24) by four runs
Third Twenty20 International in Cape Town

A collective bowling effort from South Africa Women bowlers saw them defend 119 against West Indies Women successfully by four runs in the third Twenty20 International in Cape Town and completed a 2-1 series victory.

South Africa won the toss and elected to bat first and they lost Trisha Chetty (0) in the second over with the score reading one for one.

Mignon du Preez (32) and Dane van Niekerk (23) steadied the innings and added 48 for the second wicket off 47 deliveries.

Even though South Africa lost both their settled players in a span of 16 runs, Marizanne Kapp (24 not out) and Lizelle Lee (33 not out) pushed the total to 119 for three with their unbeaten 54-run stand.

Shamilia Connell (1-14), Anisa Mohammed (1-22) and Staffanie Taylor (1-23) were among the wickets for West Indies.

Hayley Matthews (24) started the chase positively with a couple of boundaries in the second over but West Indies lost Kycia Knight (3) at the other end.

Skipper Taylor (21) joined the act with two boundaries in the fourth over to take West Indies to 24 for one.

The pair added 32 runs for the second wicket but South Africa came back strong in the game by dismissing both Matthews and Taylor in a span of 10 runs.

With 57 for three only Deandra Dottin (24) offered some resistance as West Indies reached 97 for six, needing 23 to win off the final 18 deliveries.

However, Shabnim Ismail (1-22) bowled a splendid 18th over where she conceded just two runs and picked a couple of wickets, one of them being a run-out to dent West Indies hopes.

With 12 runs needed off the final over, West Indies managed to score just seven handing a four-run victory to South Africa and with it the series too.

Lee was awarded the player of the match while West Indies skipper Taylor bagged the player of the series award.

© Cricket World 2016