< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

South Australia set to welcome Weber WBBL|07

South Australia set to welcome Weber WBBL|07
South Australia set to welcome Weber WBBL|07

The Weber Women’s Big Bash League has confirmed a revised 59-game schedule for the upcoming season, with South Australia set to host a total of 15 fixtures, including six Adelaide Strikers games.

Both Adelaide Oval and Karen Rolton Oval will welcome elite T20 cricket from 6 - 21 November, bookended by clashes between the Strikers and Melbourne Stars. The Finals Series will then commence on November 24 in a location to be decided.

Entering the maiden summer featuring an exclusive WBBL Strikers Membership offering, Members will have access to all six Strikers games in Adelaide, in addition to two Women’s International fixtures played at Adelaide Oval later in the summer and priority access to WBBL Finals featuring the Strikers.

Kate Harkness, General Manager Adelaide Strikers, said:

“It is so exciting to have a full schedule in place for Weber WBBL|07 and we thank Cricket Australia, state organisations, broadcasters and the countless others involved in making this a reality.

“Our thoughts are with clubs that will be unable to play in their home cities, and we look forward to welcoming them to Adelaide, where we will take every measure to ensure players and support staff feel as supported as possible.

“Last year, we were unable to take the field in Adelaide, and today’s fixture announcement confirms that cricket fans in South Australia will be able to witness the world’s best women’s cricket tournament across two fantastic venues, including the iconic Adelaide Oval. We can’t wait.”

Ticket sales for all regular season WBBL|07 games in South Australia will open at 2pm, Thursday 21 October.

Changes to the Weber WBBL|07 schedule have been made in response to state border restrictions, public health conditions and their related impacts. The changes allow the League and clubs to continue to prioritise the health and safety of fans, the wider community, players, match officials and staff.

In addition to a full revised schedule all 59 Weber WBBL matches will be televised for the first time.

In recent years, the League has strengthened its position as Australia’s fourth most-watched sporting League on the back of its tentpole simulcast weekends shown on Seven and Foxtel. In WBBL|01, just 10 matches were televised, followed by 12 in WBBL|02 and WBBL|03, 23 in WBBL|04 and WBBL|05 and 36 last season.

This season, Seven will show 24 Weber WBBL|07 matches live, with all 59 matches on Foxtel and Kayo, in addition to coverage on ABC Radio and cricket.com.au. Such a strong broadcast footprint reinforces the ambition of the League and clubs to continue growing the competition despite the challenges of the pandemic.

Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s General Manager of Big Bash Leagues, said:

“Today’s announcement of a revised full Weber WBBL|07 schedule reaffirms Australian Cricket’s commitment to the women’s game.

“The Weber WBBL is Australia’s highest rating sporting league for women and the world’s best cricket league for women. We owe it to our players and loyal fans to deliver a full schedule, and today’s announcement further strengthens this.

“Once again this season we need to remain nimble and agile to deliver a full Weber WBBL season. We are grateful to our Clubs, broadcast partners, players, commercial partners, venues and state governments for their cooperation, understanding and flexibility as we strive to deliver another fantastic season.

“At the same time, to also announce a landmark broadcast footprint is amazing. Fans can now watch every Weber WBBL|07 game on TV, ensuring that our passionate supporters will have access to world-class cricket despite the challenges of the pandemic. The support of Seven and Foxtel to make this happen further demonstrates their commitment to the Weber WBBL and the women’s game.”

Adelaide Strikers’ WBBL squad will travel to Tasmania next week for the opening block of fixtures, with the season-opening clash taking place at Blundstone Arena against Sydney Thunder on 16 October.