< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Squads announced for T20I Tri-Series in Ireland and ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier

The national selectors of Scotland’s men’s team have named squads for the T20I tri-series against Ireland and Netherlands to be held in Dublin and the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier to be held in United Arab Emirates.

15 players will head out to the UAE from 11th October to 2nd November, with 14 heading to Dublin for the T20I tri-series between 15th and 20th September.

T20I Tri-Series and ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier Squad

 Kyle Coetzer (c), Richie Berrington, Matthew Cross, Josh Davey*, Alasdair Evans, Oliver Hairs, Michael Leask, Calum MacLeod, George Munsey, Adrian Neill, Safyaan Sharif, Tom Sole, Hamza Tahir, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt

*Josh Davey will not feature in the T20I tri-series and instead joins the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier squad

Shane Burger, Scotland Men’s National Head Coach, said: “The 15-man squad that has been selected for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier is a strong, robust and versatile group of players that will no doubt make an impact at the tournament.

“The process to select this squad has been a long yet thoughtful one and we believe that this group of players can and will make Scotland proud. I feel the players that have missed out could also make an impact if called upon and it is my belief that a strong squad, not just the XI on the park, win you games as well as tournaments.

“This continues to be an exciting time in Scottish cricket as we embark on a journey of a lot of competitive cricket over the next few months.”

The top team from each group in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier will advance to the semi-final of the tournament whilst securing direct qualification to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020, with three more teams from each group featuring in qualification play-offs to determine the other four qualifiers.

Scotland have been placed into Group A alongside Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Namibia, Singapore, Kenya and Bermuda and will play their group games in Dubai.

The knockout stage of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier will be played primarily at the Dubai International Stadium with the play-offs scheduled for 29 and 30 October. The semifinals will be held on 1 November while the third-place match and the final are scheduled for Saturday, 2 November.

Those six qualifying teams will join the top 10 teams in the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s T20I Rankings as on 31 December 2018, in Australia in 2020 – Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England,India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies.

T20I Tri-Series Fixtures (13:30 Starts)

15th September: Ireland vs. Netherlands

16th September: Scotland vs. Netherlands

17th September: Ireland vs. Scotland

18th September: Ireland vs. Netherlands

19th September: Scotland vs. Netherlands

20th September: Ireland vs. Scotland

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier Fixtures (Group Stage)

18 October: Scotland vs. Singapore, 10:00, ICC Academy 1

19 October: Scotland vs. Kenya, 14:10, ICC Academy 2

21 October: Scotland vs. PNG, 10:00, ICC Academy 1

22 October: Scotland vs. Namibia, 10:00, ICC Academy 1

24 October: Scotland vs. Bermuda, 19:30, Dubai International Stadium, to be broadcast

27 October: Scotland vs. Netherlands, 14:10, Dubai International Stadium, to be broadcast